We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Patient - They are doing a great job at saving US mid 20th Century History!”
Review of Edgewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgewater Inn
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Be Patient - They are doing a great job at saving US mid 20th Century History!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I pretty much agree with everything in the review previously posted by Jacqui-in-FL from May 14. although some of her concerns have already been rectified in my opinion.

As a walk in customer arriving early evening on a Monday, I was really hoping to get a better price than I did - but when I saw the room, deck and view - I paid what what was being asked!

Travelling from the UK and being a bit of a sucker for mid 20th century culture, I think the owners here are doing a good job at preserving historical interest whilst aiming to satisfy the needs of the the modern demanding traveller. Bear in mind that it is a work in progress that just needs some fine tuning to become pretty perfect.

Room 108 is very nicely re-modelled. Fabulous Bathroom. Great Built in Robe with light. Modern Dresser with concealed full size fridge. Very comfortable King Bed. Nice Side Tables with Beautiful Lamps that provide extra electrical outlets built in - Very useful!

A few extra details for me would be:

>Window dressing detailing to centre and sides of blinds (currently people walking past can see in when blinds are closed)

>A Chair would be nice

>A Full Length Mirror somewhere would be helpful

> Yes a flat screen TV when the current one gives up would Finnish things off I suppose - but really not necessary until then....... think of the planet Guys!

I used the pool on returning from a really hot day exploring the Old Town and found it perfectly clean - in fact the young lady on Reception came straight over when she saw me entering it, to check that everything was fine.

In summary I'll just confirm:

>For a room with a view you really couldn't do better

> Don't miss the Sunset

> If you're visiting St Augustine try going "Unchained" and support this local Business

USE THEM OR LOSE THEM.............. and then it'll be too late

Room Tip: Request a Re-Modelled Room with Deck and River View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonbeam555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    90
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
64
220
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We found our room as many others posted, Newly remodeled, comfortable bed, nice view, nice staff and all that. We wanted a nice place we could come and see the fireworks. Husband has bad knee and can't walk a lot. We had a nice stay no problems with the room. What we didn't realize when we rented the room was every room was allowed to have up to 4 unregistered guests come and view the fireworks. So there was several other families on the deck watching the fireworks. Kids running back and forth and then parking themselves in front of us instead with their parents. Afterward someone was putting off firecrackers outside our room until 2AM. Not much sleep. Would stay again if they would change the extra guests policy. $295.90 should be worth more than what we got.

Room Tip: Parking lot is very tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeellisrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia W, Manager at Edgewater Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your comments. The Edgewater Inn is a great place to view the 4th of July fireworks display. We have always allowed paying guests to invite up to four non-paying guests to view the fireworks display. We do have out of town guests that come to visit family that live locally. We will try to stress to guests to not block the view from other guest rooms next year. Regarding the shooting off of fireworks, it is our policy that guests do not shoot off any fireworks from our property including the beach area. These guests were notified of this multiple times. Next year when you come we will have an expanded breakfast and afternoon snacks available for your enjoyment in our new guest lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Renovated rooms were nice, but not worth the price. Only amenities in room: hair dryer, two cup coffee pot, cable TV, Internet never worked. Breakfast: muffins and coffee (after 9am). Staff was GREAT!

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, pay the extra and stay in a River Side room... the view and atmosphere was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catskottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed one night in room 106. A newly renovated room. The room itself was nice and clean. The view was exceptional.

The website said there was a free continental breakfast. Well, they are in the process of completing a breakfast room. So the continental breakfast was a packaged muffin. There are little coffee makers in the room. Ours was broken so we called and had a replacement in minutes. The coffee itself was a poor quality.

The service was good. We arrived early so the front desk opened an unbooked room so we could change and use the facilities. Also, after checking out they allowed us to leave our car there so we could go have lunch.

The room was pretty expensive for what you get. If I return to St. Augustine, I would look for somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Czman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed at the Edgewater for two nights and enjoyed our stay. We stayed in room 106 which is a newly remodeled room. All of the rooms have private (newly private, I believe) porches with rocking chairs that look out onto the river.Very beautiful view of St Augustine and the Bridge of Lions. We even saw some dolphins playing in the river. If going into the old town, you are better off leaving your car at the motel and walking across the bridge into the town. We felt the price was a little high for a motel, but did enjoy our stay. One big negative was the pool. It didn't appear that it gets used often and was quite dirty. There were bugs floating all over and bird poop both IN the pool and all over the deck area.
Overall a decent stay. Maybe will try somewhere in the old town if visiting again.

Room Tip: Go for a remodeled room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walldorf, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
349 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We had a nice room with a deck on the backside facing the bridge and the old town. However, this place is not cheap. They promised to provide muffins in the morning, but there weren't any when we asked. Considering the many B&Bs in town, that are not that much more expensive, much nicer and do breakfast, I would not come back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank terbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

There's nothing wrong with this hotel...just go with the expectation that it is basically a bed with a view. We took a weekend trip to St. Augustine and I am not a big fan of B&B's which is apparently the majority of accommodations here. Also, we were only staying one night. Most of the downtown hotels/B&B's require a minimum of 2 -3 nights on weekend. So we took a chance on the Edgewater.

The Edgewater invokes images of old Florida motels that used to dot highways like US 301, US 41, A1A before the interstates and the Holiday Inns/ Marriotts /Hampton Inns of the world took over.

The room is basic and clean. The bed was reasonably comfortable. The bathroom was recently redone (nice tiled shower and granite countertop). The view is wonderful and the location is a short walk over the bridge to downtown. And best of all, the price is much more reasonable than most others in downtown and they don't charge for parking. So if that works for you, this is definitely worth your consideration....

Where it could have been better:
--more than store-bought (not fresh) muffins for the "continental breakfast". Seriously, that and coffee was all they offered. (and no milk or cream either....just powdered creamer). Cereal? Milk? Juice? nothing...
--upgrade the TVs...they still have those old school tube TVs (no flat screen either)
--tiny coffee makers crammed on the bathroom counter
--hot water was nonexistent in the evenings
--not enough outlets ..I could only find one. Most folks travel with things like cell phones, cameras, ipads, etc...all which need to be charged. Add to that a hair dryer & coffee maker...
--ice machine did not work
--more storage/work space...there room had enough empty wall space to include a small desk or table...just something to place your things on... but the room consists of the bed, a chair and two nightstands
--Wifi never worked.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui-in-FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia W, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We have been renovating our rooms and have finished over half of them. You did offer good insight. We are in the process of selecting all new furniture that will have more functional space and electric outlets built in. New flat screens TV's, in room refrigerators, Keurig coffee makers, and improved amenities are on the list. We are currently in the process of converting our waterfront suite to a guest area where we will begin serving an expanded breakfast buffet and afternoon hors d'oeuvres. As for the hot water and WIFI issue we will check into this immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
613 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
4.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
867 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn

Property: Edgewater Inn
Address: 2 N Saint Augustine Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32080-3753
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#11 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edgewater Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picture yourself rising from a restful sleep and gaze out the window of your waterfront room, catching first glimpse of the Nation's Oldest City. Sailboats are anchored in the Bay, while others make their way to the Atlantic Ocean. Imagine sitting in your rocking chair, enjoying a cup of coffee as graceful seagulls fly above and dolphins break the waves. It's the beginning of another perfect day. The Edgewater Inn offers a relaxing, scenic and historic escape in the heart of St. Augustine, Florida. Located just a short walk from historic downtown St. Augustine at the foot of the Bridge of Lions, you will find this to be the perfect escape for your next getaway. Our 19 rooms property is ready to provide you with outstanding hospitality for both the leisure and romantic traveler. Recently renovated, the Edgewater Inn offers stylish rooms, a waterfront guest lounge area, a Smart Start hot breakfast, and afternoon refreshments. Come and enjoy St. Augustine with a view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Edgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Saint Augustine
Edgewater Motel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing