We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet, and good price!!”
Review of Edgewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgewater Inn
Ranked #7 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2008

I first heard of the Edgewater Inn , St Augustine, Fl from reading the reviews from tripAdvisor. I thought I would give it a try. My vists to St Augustine are usually two or three times a year. The Edgewater Inn is located directly on the river next to the Bridge of Lions and is about a ten minute walk over the bridge into Historic St Augustine. .Although, it was a weekend that I stayed there, the room inside seemed very quiet. and there was very little noise from the traffic on the street. The motel may not be new but the rooms cleanliness and updates gave the feeling that management cares about the AAA rating. In addition to the standard room I stayed in, I got to see the one bedroom suite. It was large. impecably clean and had a killer view of the histoirc district across the river. I would definaty stay there again and if possible next time in the suite. The Inn has great rates for it's location on the riverfront

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 45traveling_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 360 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2008

This is a cute little hotel just across the bridge of lions in St. Augustine.
I imagine this place won't fit everyone's needs, as the rooms arent huge and not everything is sparkling brand new. But the beds are comfortable, the pillows soft, and the views from the back of the inn looking at the river and down St. Augustine are spectacular. We sat on the back deck with a bottle of wine watching the city, it was great.
The price was right as well.
I would say the only negative is that you're out of the tourist center of st. augustine--which could be a positive as well. Walking to dinner across the bridge is possible for sure, but it's a bit of walk.

Would we go back again? For sure.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Strigs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2008

My wife and I have stayed at the Edgewater many times over the years and have always enjoyed our stay. On this past visit we were highly disappointed with the cleanilness of the the Bath Towels which were a Dingy Grey color and the quality of the Bed Sheets. The Edgewater is evidently succumbing to the construction project with the new bridge, because they are making no effort to keep up their previous standards.

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank necky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

We spent the weekend in St Augustine and stayed at the Edgewater Inn....what a nice little inn! The rooms are small but very clean. We sat outside on our porch on Saturday during a rainstorm and watched the dolphins and manatee swim around in the river. Despite the construction going on, we still enjoyed our view of the city. We will definitely go back to the Edgewater Inn.

Stayed: July 2007
4  Thank knttrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

Me and my husband stayed at this place on 3/2005 and we weren't sure what to expect...but after arriving we quickly fell in love with the place!! Like other reviews said it is not the Hilton but it is not the Hilton price either!! The rooms, workers, and atmosphere was wonderful!!!!!!!! We fell love so much that on our 2 year anniversary, we came back to stay in the same room!!! The construction was going on til late in the night but we COULD NOT hear the noise from our room. We had walked down town late at night and when passing the equipment, that is when we heard the slight noise. We were very pleased with the ENTIRE staff and hospitality of Edgewater Inn...Thank you for making our vacation WONDERFUL & we hope that more people will feel the same we do..WE WILL be back again!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank heatherbarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2007

my wife and i stayed for the weekend...the inn is is just over the (temporary) bridge of lions on anastasia island and is a short walk over the well lit bridge right into the heart of 'old town' st. augustine...i was immediately disappointed when we found all of the construction work practically on top of the inn...the noise of the large cranes kept going til 11pm friday night...also i was led to believe we would have a 'bay view'...well we did, out of the bathroom window and a small back door leading to a sitting area (which was actually pretty nice overlooking small strip of sand, matanzas bay and the 'old town' & fort)...rooms could use updating tho generally comfortable...when i asked at the front desk about the construction noise friday afternoon, i was told 'if i want a refund i better do it soon'...complimentary newspaper is the usa today weekend edition on friday only...if you like flat pillows you are out of luck, only big puffy ones...heating/ac work well...place is very clean...and inn is well situated for seeing sites, etc...

Stayed: January 2007
1  Thank g7uisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2007

We stumbled across this place through their website when me & my husband decided to go to St Augustine for a few nights. Were really not picky about cleanliness or kindness of staff, we normally judge on value, LOL. However we had a great experience here and have been back twice now! We even came back for our honeymoon. Its really inexpensive, you get a great view, your in a great location and our rooms were always super clean. This is always our top choice when visiting St Augustine. Its a small & quaint, just like the town.

  • Stayed: February 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stacymsoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
2.0 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 78 in St. Augustine
666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
1.2 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn

Address: 2 N Saint Augustine Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32080-3753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#11 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: $129 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edgewater Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picture yourself rising from a restful sleep and gaze out the window of your waterfront room, catching first glimpse of the Nation's Oldest City. Sailboats are anchored in the Bay, while others make their way to the Atlantic Ocean. Imagine sitting in your rocking chair, enjoying a cup of coffee as graceful seagulls fly above and dolphins break the waves. It's the beginning of another perfect day. The Edgewater Inn offers a relaxing, scenic and historic escape in the heart of St. Augustine, Florida. Located just a short walk from historic downtown St. Augustine at the foot of the Bridge of Lions, you will find this to be the perfect escape for your next getaway. Our 19 rooms property is ready to provide you with outstanding hospitality for both the leisure and romantic traveler. Recently renovated, the Edgewater Inn offers stylish rooms, a waterfront guest lounge area, a Smart Start hot breakfast, and afternoon refreshments. Come and enjoy St. Augustine with a view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Edgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Saint Augustine
Edgewater Motel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing