We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for one night stay”
Review of Edgewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgewater Inn
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Lake City, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great for one night stay”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed in a newly renovated, water view room for one night. It was super clean and well stocked with lines and toiletries. The view from our room was stunning. Although we researched the inn before booking, we were a little surprised at the outdoor condition when we arrived. It is very dated. However, the interior made up for this slight shock and the room served our purpose for a one night stay. We could only locate one accessible outlet (in the bathroom) for our cell phones and the iron. We also had to place a towel at the bottom of the entry door to cover a small gap and used my hair clips to keep the curtain closed and from covering the AC. Again, very dated.
While we were not unsatisfied, we will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Newly renovated rooms are very nice. The water view is gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delilah_raine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    90
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
64
222
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kutztown, pa
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed for only one night in January. This was a Monday off season and we were the only guests.
We arrived very early--actually around noon and our room was ready. We booked one of the queen newly renovated rooms and it was beautiful. The fridge, microwave and coffee maker were a nice touch. It was a nice warm, sunny day and was afraid that once my husband saw the wonderful porch he would never leave.
It is an easy walk across the bridge to anything you want to see in St Augustine and the night view from our porch was spectacular.
Thanks to Tripadvisor we knew the breakfast was nothing special so we got our own BF items and enjoyed them early the next morning while soaking in the view.
Also we knew that there is no on sight person after office hours, actually this was a strangw feeling since we were the only people there but it made for a very quiet night. There is a number to call if you need someone.
This suits our style perfectly, we do not like the chain box hotels--no matter how nice. If you need the chains and the same old same old breakfast bars then this may not be for you. If you want a homey feel and a great location with the best view of the city and the fort book right away.

Room Tip: The renovated room was beautiful and the bed comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mountainmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed in one of the remodeled rooms, so we don't have any complaints about it being "dated." The back door opens to a deck right by the water. You have two rocking chairs to sit on and watch St. Augustine on the other side of the water and the sunset. It is right off the Bridge of Lions - all construction has been completed so there are no barges in the way. We found the price to be reasonable (we stayed on New Year's Eve), especially because parking is free and once you get there, you walk everywhere. Parking in St. Augustine didn't seem like something we wanted to deal with. We didn't try the "breakfast" since it appeared to just be pre-packaged muffins and coffee, but a short stroll across the bridge put us right in St. Augustine with many more options. Overall, it was a great deal with a perfect location - very close without any of the hassle of the old town itself.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the remodeled rooms if you don't want "dated."
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunLvrs_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed here just one night, but will definitley be back. The location is magnificient. Open the "back" door to the motel room and walla, 2 rocking chairs with the beautiful Bridge of Lions right there. We watched the boats, the draw bridge go up and down and saw dolphins playing right in front of us. It is an older motel but very clean. Breakfast is nothing but some packaged muffins, but the view is worth it.

Room Tip: we had a king room with water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nursnanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is the best kept secret in St Augustine. This is a privately owned and operated mom and pop operation that is a step back in time to the 50's. No internet, or fancy services here, but it is neat and clean and has location, location, location! There is one unit that is a 1 bedroom apt, and then the rest are 2 dbl bed or queen bed rooms with a back door out to a covered porch with rockers to each room that overloooks the Matanzas Bay and the spectacular St Augustine skyline, and Castillo De San Marco fort! This motel is not updated, but only maintained as is because of strict buisness codes set by the city of St Augustine. When this family decides to close up shop, there will be no more commercial property at this site. Waah, because it is right next to the Bridge of Lions which spells easy walking access to the old city tourism sites, restaurants, etc... It's great because it eliminates the cost and hassle of parking in the Old City. The prices vary depending on the season, but are comparitvely very reasonable year round because of the lack of amenities, however, there is a pool on the premisis, and parking the old motor inn style right at your room door. This is our favorite place to stay for the view, convenience and price. It truly is one of the best kept secrets in St Auggie!

Room Tip: The A frame room is unique, and there is a 1 bedroom apt with a full kitchen, living room and dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scvixter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

This was our second visit to Edgewater Inn. The position is unrivalled and its great to sit with a glass of wine on the riverside porch and watch the sunset over St. Augustine. Rooms exceptionally clean. Nice pool. Now - the downside! The reception is not always manned. We arrived during 'posted hours' which had been confirmed in our booking - to find the office closed and a cell number to call to find how to get into our rooms! Unfortunately the owners had not given any thought to foreign visitors (we're British) without cell phones! Luckily a fellow guest came to our rescue and loaned us their cell! The in-room coffee allowance is also a bit tight - only allowing one coffee each - which, given that no-one opened reception until close to 9.30 am - where the coffee and muffins should have been was not great. By the time we left at close to 10 am, there was still no coffee made in the office.
We saw someone pull up outside the office in the evening, look at the empty office and drive off. Given that the hotel was less than half full, what a shame.
Still a great place to stay and will be back (with our own tea/coffee!!!)

Room Tip: Always get a riverside room if available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owlandpussycat1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here on 10/20/2011-10/22/2011. We thought it had a great location because of the view and the short pretty walk over the Bridge Of Lions to Downtown shops and restaurants. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. The rooms are a little dated but very clean. We would love to return to such a wonderful weekend vacation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhodge99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 78 in St. Augustine
617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
4.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn

Property: Edgewater Inn
Address: 2 N Saint Augustine Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32080-3753
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#11 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edgewater Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picture yourself rising from a restful sleep and gaze out the window of your waterfront room, catching first glimpse of the Nation's Oldest City. Sailboats are anchored in the Bay, while others make their way to the Atlantic Ocean. Imagine sitting in your rocking chair, enjoying a cup of coffee as graceful seagulls fly above and dolphins break the waves. It's the beginning of another perfect day. The Edgewater Inn offers a relaxing, scenic and historic escape in the heart of St. Augustine, Florida. Located just a short walk from historic downtown St. Augustine at the foot of the Bridge of Lions, you will find this to be the perfect escape for your next getaway. Our 19 rooms property is ready to provide you with outstanding hospitality for both the leisure and romantic traveler. Recently renovated, the Edgewater Inn offers stylish rooms, a waterfront guest lounge area, a Smart Start hot breakfast, and afternoon refreshments. Come and enjoy St. Augustine with a view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Edgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Saint Augustine
Edgewater Motel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing