We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over hyped”

Gas Full Service Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 584 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“over hyped”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

had heard good things...very disappointed in quality and service. very noisy and the server was inattentive. portions average.....did not live up to the hype!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank mrsbutler1034600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    137
    43
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waycross, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome restaurant!”
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

This is a great place to go. There are so many good options I can't list them all. Trust all the other great reviews and visit this place!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tackaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not so hot”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We read the reviews and were really looking forward to our meal. The decor was clean but stark. We had their signature Ruben rolls which were tough and chewy and were mostly wrapper. Didn't eat them. The 1/2" meatloaf slices were heavily flavored with what I think was thyme. I like thyme but by friend did not like his meatloaf.The garlic mashed potatoes were fluffy but lacked the rich taste of butter and cream/evaporated milk/buttermilk. The slaw was flavorless. The Marcella pasta was OK but she wouldn't order that again.We asked what all the awards were for but except for the Ruben rolls they were specials and not on the menu. An order of chips arrived at the next table and you could see the grease shining on them. Maybe it was a bad night and maybe the other dishes are great but we won't be trying them.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CapeCoralJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“We love Gas!!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We tried this place after my tattoo artist highly recommended it. The decor is awesome. It's 50's without being tacky or gaudy. We were greeted by the owner who told us all about where they get all their fresh local ingredients. She also told us about all the beers they offer. Our waitress was Brittany who is great and as sweet as can be! After ordering our dinner, we were brought DEVILED EGGS!!! They were awesome! My husband had espresso rubbed ribeye. He is very particular about his steaks, and he was not disappointed. I opted for the "Not your Mama's Meatloaf". It was delicious, moist and topped with house-made BBQ sauce! YUM! For dessert we had the sea salt caramel brownie and it was TO DIE FOR!! We loved it so much we came back for lunch two days later. This will definitely be a regular stop for us to "fuel up". And to those complaining about the prices, don't be ridiculous. If you don't want pre-fab frozen crap, you have to pay a little more. Everything is homemade with fresh local ingredients! You get what you pay for and I am happy with their prices and their amazing food!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seamonkey21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Get the Jalapeño Popper Heart Attack Burger!”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Great value and great service. True comfort food. The Reuben egg rolls are to die for! The owner is top notch and very knowledgeable. Beer list is top not too for those who like microbrews.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cthiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gas Full Service Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gas Full Service Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing