We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice women friendly course in great shape”

Slammer & Squire Golf Course
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at Florida's World Golf Village, this Bobby Weed-designed golf course winds naturally through flatwoods and hammocks, while bordering wetland preserves and wildlife habitats.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
153 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice women friendly course in great shape”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We played dec 28 in the morning showers, but still enjoyed the course. The club house legends grille has great food. In fact plan to have breakfast there today in lieu of the hotel. Would definitely play here again and eat here. Play after 1pm it is a lot cheaper to play.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank witcheypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    22
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
silver spring
Level Contributor
317 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Unfriendly”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Slammer and Squire is such a beautiful golf course that I could not rate it poor. Hence the average rating. But with so many beautiful courses in the area, I would recommend that you other places to play.

Let's start with some good things. Nice course, well laid out. Challenging and fun. A big barrel of apples on the first and tenth tees.

But. We had made arrangements for a group of 20 golfers. We thought we had paid for forecaddies, but S&S doesn't have forecaddies. Nor were we told that they would be overseeding and it would be cart path only. About a quarter of the folks with us cannot walk well. And with these missteps, an apology might have smoothed things over, but we were treated like they were doing us a favor letting us play there.

Other complaints. Service in the bar was rude. The hot dog is perhaps the worst I've ever had in my life. First I threw out the roll which was so stall as to be inedible. Then halfway through the hot dog I threw that out too.

And don't plan on a quick visit to the Hall of Fame while you are there to golf. They charge so much to enter that you need to spend hours inside to make it worthwhile.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank drbking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“WON'T BE GOING BACK”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

1- No GPS on carts.. 2- 0nly 3 locations for drinking water on course.. 3- No illustrations of the holes on the score card or at the tee boxes (your on your own).. 4- I feel that just these comments alone are enough for me 'never to return'... I spent way to much money to play here...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ohio K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great restaurant at clubhouse”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

While staying at the World Golf Renaissance Marriott we ventured out to find another place to eat nearby. What a pleasant surprise at the Slammer and Squire. Food was good, prices were reasonable. Service was slow but we think the server was new. Great atmosphere. Highly recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank llv1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rensselaer, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous course!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This track is set in the middle of The World Golf Village. One would have expected to see homes and buildings, but that is not the case. Absolutely beautiful layout! Greens and fairways were very nice. Reasonable amount of water and sand traps to make it challenging, yet manageable. Pace of play was great. Staff was friendly and helpful. It was a distance from the parking lot to the Pro Shop. Staff took your bags and you on a cart to check in. Very good experience! Will go back!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slammer & Squire Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to Slammer & Squire Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing