We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Tour Ever!”
Review of The Tasting Tours

The Tasting Tours
Ranked #1 of 27 Nightlife in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Experience one of the highest rated food tour companies in North Florida! As seen in Travel and Leisure Magazine, The Tasting Tours is ranked #1 for the best activities to do in St. Augustine! We offer award-winning food and wine tasting tours that explore the exciting history, culture and food that makes St. Augustine a top culinary destination. The Tasting Tours...where 'every DRINK is a toast, every TASTE is an occasion and every TOUR is an experience'. TASTE the difference as you tour St. Augustine!
LaHave, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Best Tour Ever!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just got back from the "Vittles & Vino" tour in St. Augustine, FL., what a fabulous time we had! The tour starts off in a wonderul little wine shop - The Gifted Cork - where you have the opportunity to taste several lovely wines from around the world. Then you are presented with your basket with wine and glasses and head to a horse-drawn carriage with your host and driver.
Our host was Jennifer, our driver, Shawn. Both were wonderful... personable, knowledgeable, friendly and fun! We proceeded along in our carriage, hearing historical facts and sipping our wine, while getting to know our fellow passengers. Every place we stopped had terrific food and lovely wine. This experience is not to be missed! Highly recommended!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LaHaveRiverGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    681
    25
    11
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
“Peaceful way to view Ancient City at Nite”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Had pleasure of going on an evening horse/carriage ride to view the holiday lights in downtown St Augustine during the past holiday season. The tour ran on time and provided the relaxing time they advertised. Enjoyed the bottle of wine provided per couple and the ability to chose red or white. Our guide provided a narrative of the sights that wasn't too overbearing allowing quiet time to enjoy the atmosphere of the Ancient City holiday night. Found it to be much more relaxing and enjoyable then all the motorized trollies zipping around downtown

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank drwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a wonderful experience”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Signed up for the wine and vittles carriage tour. Jennifer our hostess was great and very accommodating. Food and wine choices were first rate. A great way to explore some of the great eating experiences that Saint Augustine has to offer. Sean the carriage driver and his horse Red just made the whole day perfect.



Helpful?
Thank Sepstein32819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Night of Lights Tasting Tour”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We saw alot of the city by horse and carriage while holding a glass of wine! A little bumpy in some places but enjoyable nonetheless! Our driver was very knowledgeable and we enjoyed zooming past houses, shopping, people in style in our lovely carriage while hearing the history of the city and sipping wine. What a great idea!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Only so-so for a romantic private tour...”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I booked the lover's nights of light wine tour, expecting a romantic carriage ride through St Augustine to see the city full of holiday lights. Booking the tour was super easy on their website, and upon arriving, we were greeted by a friendly guide.

Unfortunately, I was a little taken aback by the professionalism of our carriage guide. I paid $152 for an hour tour, which ended up being only about 45 minutes. It was supposed to be a romantic tour, however the guide continuously talked about her views that marriages never last forever, as well as horror stories of botched proposals in her carriage.

Hubby and I would start talking amongst ourselves, and the guide would actually interrupt us to go on about her views. She also commented several times about how quiet we are, which I believe should have been a hint that we would like to take in the sights.

I can see that this tour company could be fun for a group tour looking to talk, drink and have a laid back kind of tour.

PS The lover's tour is in a bright pink carriage!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank acascante1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tasting Tours also viewed

 

Been to The Tasting Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing