We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique St Augustine experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kings Bistro - CLOSED

Kings Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Soups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A unique St Augustine experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We joined a party of 16, booked well in advance, for an evening with a difference. King's Bistro serves on just Friday, Saturday and Sunday. It has room for about 32 people, seated at four large tables. We occupied half the space. Most of the other diners were clearly familiar with the format, and have remembered to bring their own wine to this unlicensed venue.

The chef/proprietor - who has cooked in some exalted places - prepares three main dishes for the evening meal, with some standard salad/sandwich alternatives. There were also two starter choices, and a selection of desserts.

When all seats are taken, the chef's partner speaks the menu and takes orders. Somehow, the numbers seem to work - a miracle given limited kitchen space.

Once the food starts to arrive, conversation largely ends, as the chef's partner starts to entertain the room to recorded accompaniment. She can certainly deliver a song; and several friends stop by later in the evening to add to the entertainment in slightly different musical genres.

Our food was excellent, selected from three choices all of which sounded attractive.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    8
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Anything but pricey and the food is great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

I had the distinct pleasure of having lunch at the King's Bistro today with approximately 29 other friends and neighbors from my community. Mike is a true genius when it comes to making us a lunch that is homemade fresh yet presented so professionally. Impossible to tell you all how good the food is here.

Make no mistake the restaurant is small, but we love the cozy nature of it. And, besides the great food, Mike is sure to come out and talk to us. With the added bonus of Tom, who comes and does karaoke for us.

All I can say is this is one of my most anticipated luncheons.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LIGirl846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

This is exactly the type of wonderful yet unexpected restaurant that we love to find. It's truly a fun dining experience. The food was fabulous. Nothing is fried and everything is prepared fresh. I had a filet mignon sandwich with a side of potato salad and a cup of crab soup for $9. It was excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“unexpected treasure!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Because we couldn't find parking for the Seafood Festival & driving downtown was a nightmare, we ventured down West King St to King's Bistro for lunch on Saturday. There were 4 of us; we were welcomed by our friendly hostess Judy and seated immediately - yes it might be small inside but it's huge on ambiance, food & FUN!! Lunch was such a hit, we made reservations to return Sunday for dinner; again we were more than "pleased as punch!" We arrived at 5:30pm and didn't leave until 9:30pm - now that should give you a hint of how much we enjoyed our time there. The food is fabulous! The chef and staff are warm & welcoming! The prices are a home run! It's an understatement to say that we had a great time - will we be back, you ask? YOU BETCHA!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Told that we were basically being treated bad because they took a big group without reservations. We were put in the entertainment area to eat and it took two hours to get dinner. Had to ask for water in the meantime and poured it ourselves. Music blaring through a speaker right over the bad table for 8 of us celebrating a birthday. Unable to talk we turned it down ourselves. Still could not hear and we left leaving our meals uneaten and paid for after a conversation with a smart mouthed waitress that put us in our place. No big deal wine was gone anyway and they don't serve alcohol.
Lesson to waitress is don't tell people that you are going to treat them bad because you chose to make more money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Bistro also viewed

Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
St. Augustine, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing