We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique place to visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pena-Peck House and Woman's Exchange of St Augustine

Pena-Peck House and Woman's Exchange of St Augustine
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic House Museum of the First Spanish Period, circa 1750. Built of native coquina stone. Home of the Royal Spanish Treasurer and two British Governors, and the last seat of British Government south of Canada after the Revolutionary War (until 1785). Home of the Woman's Exchange of St. Augustine, established 1892 as a non-profit gift shop featuring handcrafted goods.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unique place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Pena-Peck House is a 'must see' stop on your walk around St. Augustine.
The historic home is well maintained by the "Women's Exchange", a group of volunteers who take care of it and also make it fun to visit. They have a super gift shop with items made in and around St. Augustine, as well as other places.
In the Spring and Fall they have a super Luncheon with delicious food and a great atmosphere to have a good time with friends.
And, their gift shop is filled with new items.
Overall, a super time.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    9
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1,675 reviews
1,278 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 611 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour-Go and enjoy!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is a great house tour. The house in maintained in great condition. We had a personal tour. The guide was great=very friendly and had a love for the house and history. A lot of original furniture still in the house. There is a gift shop in the house as well. The tour is FREE. donations are accepted. I gladly gave a donation to this great house tour experience.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jlantern3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our own private tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

We happened to stop in and were given our own private tour of the house. Our tour guide was very knowledgable and welcoming. Our group of 8 adults and 6 kids all enjoyed this stop. There are some very fascinating things to see in this home.

Helpful?
1 Thank Emilyfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Most Informative Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

I had read a previous TripAdvisor review about this historical landmark and my friend and I decided to check it out. We were more then appreciative of the time the tour guide Ruth spent with us. My friend Kim & I are big history buffs so the additional attention (an extra hour) that Ruth spent with us was not wasted. We heard all about the 250+ year history of the families that resided here, but also found that the time spent with Ruth was well worth it as she shared little tidbits of information that I'm sure no one else was privy to. If you are not in a hurry, and appreciate hearing all about this beautifully preserved home, it is well worth your time. The Women's Exchange has many fundraisers throughout the year, and they are the keepers of this historic home. They could really use the donations they receive to maintain this historic site.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank carolecare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A gorgeous house that is lovingly maintained by the Women's Exchange”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

We stayed at a bed & breakfast (63 Orange Street), and the owner recommended that we tour this house when she heard that we had been the the Oldest House Museum the previous day. We said ok but I had already planned our trip based upon attractions listed on Trip Advisor.

Later in the day, we had an hour before our tour of Flagler College, and happened to walk by the Peña-Peck House. We went inside and were greeted by a couple of women who volunteer for the Women's Exchange (the organization that owns and maintains this house). We asked if there was a cost for the tour - none - and how long the tour would be. The guide said a tour could be as long as we wanted; she lead us quickly through the house or stop on every detail. We decided that 30-45 minutes would be good, so that we wouldn't miss our Flagler tour.

The tour of this house is really excellent. Unlike most of the other tours and attractions in St. Augustine, this was a private tour just for my husband and I. Although maybe Trip Advisor will make it more popular now. :) The house is very well-maintained, and decorated with beautiful period furniture. The woman guiding you around the house explains the interesting history of the families who lived there over the years, and how they expanded and renovated the home.

It's a similar experience to the Oldest House Museum (which is still worthwhile), but the Peña-Peck House is free, not crowded, and your tour is more personalized to you. The women running the tours (as volunteers) of this house are kind, informed, and excited to show you around what they have personally helped to maintain.

There is a box if you want to make a donation to the Women's Exchange; afterwards we took our tour at Flagler College to break our $20 and came back to the Peña-Peck House to donate more money! We loved it.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Katerbug411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pena-Peck House and Woman's Exchange of St Augustine also viewed

 

Been to Pena-Peck House and Woman's Exchange of St Augustine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing