We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Experience - Hands down better than the huge trolley tours!”

St. Augustine Gold Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$120.00*
and up
Priavte Sightseeing Tours maximum passengers 6
Ranked #3 of 132 Tours in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Our tour is either private for just your group ($120 total) or mixed with others by individual reservation (25$ per person). Takes you around the city down the narrow streets missing no important historical sights. We stop at several places and at guests requests for photos. Try the original and best tour in St Augustine and you will not be disappointed. We only do tours and no taxi rides.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Smartest move we made when visiting St. Augustine was booking a tour with Peter. He was not available the first day we were in town, but we are very glad we waited to tour with him the next day.

This is not the same type of tour you would get with one of the large trolley services. Peter stopped at various points where we would accompany him on foot to see sights inside and close-up. Peter's extensive knowledge of the history St. Augustine is amazing. He also has pictures of what the buildings looked like in the past and points out the architecture of different periods. It really helped us appreciate the town so much more.

The size of his vehicle makes it very easy to get down some of the smaller streets in St. Augustine. A big hit for me personally was that we were able to stop and see a current dig where they were uncovering buildings and artifacts from past centuries.

Book this tour - you will be glad you did!

Thank travelcrazy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staugustinegoldtours, Owner at St. Augustine Gold Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thanks for taking the trouble to write this report.
We pride ourselves on being a truly unique tour changing all the time so we get a lot of repeat and local business.
Being established well integrated into the community we are aware in advance of many of the local activities and enables us to showcase them and alter our itinerary accordingly.
Come back soon.
Peter and Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (942)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"golf cart"
in 72 reviews
"private tour"
in 69 reviews
"electric vehicle"
in 31 reviews
"peter's tour"
in 28 reviews
"great tour"
in 110 reviews
"mr gold"
in 9 reviews
"personal tour"
in 22 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 33 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 37 reviews
"nights of lights"
in 30 reviews
"lights tour"
in 21 reviews
"small group"
in 23 reviews
"minute tour"
in 12 reviews
"old city"
in 20 reviews
"flagler college"
in 10 reviews
"maureen"
in 78 reviews
"augustine"
in 420 reviews
Filter

739 - 743 of 942 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

Peter, of Gold Tours, did our tour and he was top notch. He had the historical data and local lore on his fingertips and all told with a sense of humor. I had visited St. Augustine several times before and this was the first time I really had a firm grasp of the history and geography.

Thank Andrew Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staugustinegoldtours, Owner at St. Augustine Gold Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thanks for the report It is always rewarding to hear that I have done my job well.
We always like clients to leave with a good overview of the city and its history.
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Had actually gone last December and some of us are doing it again this year! Highly enjoyed this tour...had family with varying age ranges from 64 years old to a 13 year old and all were very happy. The tour guide, Peter was excellent. Since the vehicle was smaller than the vehicle/trolley used with mass tour groups, it was a lot easier to see more sites close up. Friends and family are coming into the area for the holidays this year who in turn will also get to go on the tour while others are happy to do it again! Definitely check the weather before going, if it is chilly, scarves and a good coat strongly recommended as the vehicle is open in the sides (like a big golf-cart).

Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staugustinegoldtours, Owner at St. Augustine Gold Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thanks for the review which made us pass a significant milestone of 200 reviews
We always like repeat clients and their recommendations but please make sure they reserve well in advance as we get very busy and we would not like to disappoint your family and friends.
Peter and Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We are local, and have gone on Peter's tour twice-once for Nights of Lights last year and once for a daytime tour a couple of weeks ago. We already have a Nights of Lights tour booked for this year also. I cannot recommend Peter enough. He is so incredibly knowledgeable about the area, and his vehicle allows for access into areas that the "train" tours can't get close to. The vehicle is very comfortable, quiet, and smooth riding, and because it's so quiet, there's no PA system to leave you with ringing ears by the time you're done. Peter customizes the experience based on the interest of the particular group with him at the time, and is very flexible on routing. Last time we wanted to be dropped at a certain location due to one member of our group having a hard time with walking long distances, and it wasn't a problem at all.

Give him a try, you won't regret it.

Thank mspink53189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staugustinegoldtours, Owner at St. Augustine Gold Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review
We love to tour locals and look forward to seeing you on the Nights of Lights tour you have booked.
We pride ourselves in customizing every tour based on the interest of the particular group with us and change the route so as to make each tour unique.
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The lights tour was so spectacular. And the history he shared with us was much better than the trolley tour which beat us up... (Bumpy and loud)he knew more about the town's history and gave us a great tour!! We'll tell our family and friends!

Thank Jmaffis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staugustinegoldtours, Owner at St. Augustine Gold Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

It was our pleasure to show you both all of our lights which as you say are spectacular.
As you saw I am a history nerd and even on a night of lights tour share some with my clients
I am so glad you had a great tour and look forward to meeting your family and friends
Peter and Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Augustine Gold Tours also viewed

 

Been to St. Augustine Gold Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing