We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Having fun and learning something, who whould've thought!?”

Fort Menendez at the Old Florida Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$199.99*
and up
St. Augustine, Fort Matanzas and Downtown Helicopter Tour
Ranked #40 of 180 things to do in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A hands on Historical Experience.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Having fun and learning something, who whould've thought!?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I took my two kids here age 5 and 7. They are boys and rambunctious at that. The first thing the guide told us is you can touch things and the museum is focused on FUN. We were sold right then. The boys were given "jobs" where they could earn golden coins called Ducados. The best part was when my five year old yelled "FRIEND OR FRO" when given his "pike." I was amazed at how well our guide interacted with my kids. They loved her. Throughout our tour, more voyagers would arrive and she would leave us but always made sure to come back and check on us. I even got to learn a few things while the boys were playing. I recommend it for not only kids, but for adults too!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    46
    11
    5
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sycamore, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Waste of time and money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I just happened up on this place but were sadly disappointed after we visited. It could be much better but we didn't really have a clue what we were looking at with no brochure to tell us. They need guided tours which would have made it better and the price was too expensive for what it was. We love history and enjoyed what we were told by one employee but then left to ourselves and it went downhill from there. The coins given out seemed lame and the trinkets you can purchase with them were cheap. We didn't buy anything with them. We will not go again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice L, Public Relations Manager at Fort Menendez at the Old Florida Museum, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit to Fort Menendez. We make it a point to try and ensure everyone leaves with a positive experience. Because Fort Menendez is a hands-on museum, we typically steer away from the guided tour format because we want to give everyone the opportunity to explore our replica villages on their own terms. This also allows our villagers to be available for any guest that needs attention. I apologize if the villager assisting you was less than attentive.

We would love to make it up to you by inviting you back at your convenience. At the end of your next visit, I would appreciate you taking the time to give me more detailed feedback in person. We appreciate all feedback and try our best to respond to the wants and needs of our guests.

We encourage all future guests to let us know immediately if their experience at Fort Menendez is less-than perfect so we can try and make it right while you're still present.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Had a blast. VERY interactive. Each person role played a character from Spanish colonial times. We were "paid" for doing chores, and teaching others how to play their roles. We were also able to gamble and play games for "money". Then we were able to use the "money" to purchase trinkets at the gift shop at no cost to us. Great learning experience too!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, Florida
Level Contributor
384 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Wow! What a suprise?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

This place is really neat. It is hands on and interactive. Everything is pretty much touchable and they encourage you to touch, and be active in the village. When you arrive at the Fort you are given a gold coin and you have a choice to be a slacker or take 1 of 4 jobs. As you do chores and your answer trivia questions you can earn more gold coins to spend in the giftshop. It's really fun and kids will love it. You can alos challenge villagers to games and if you win you win their gold, if you lose they get some of your gold.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a bad couple of hours with kiddos”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had fun. A little disorganized but we had an overall good time. Price is pretty good too. If you have younger children you will enjoy yourselves. They give you fake money to make purchases for the kids at the end. That was nice.

Helpful?
1 Thank rchaider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Menendez at the Old Florida Museum also viewed

 
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to Fort Menendez at the Old Florida Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing