We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tastefully interesting”

Whetstone Chocolates
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.86*
and up
St Augustine Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour
Ranked #1 of 93 Shopping in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: St. Augustine's "Original Chocolate Tour" led by Whetstone Chocolatiers. You will be introduced t the history and making of chocolate and the Whetstone story. A 4-tiered tasting distinguishes the characteristics of our dark, milk and white chocolate, cocoa nibs and more. Taste freshly made chocolates and confections while you walk through our factory. This tour is for the chocoholic with a discriminating palate searching for the subtleties that define artisan chocolates. A decandantly delicious experience!Whetstone Chocolate Factory and Store. Chocolate Tasting Tours available Monday through Sunday. Store hours Monday through Sunday 10am - 5:30pm.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tastefully interesting”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

While surfing the net I discovered the chocolate tour at Whetstone. It was fun, interesting, tasty and lasted just an hour. I learned alot about one of my favorite foods and we were given samples and encouraged to be critical tasters. I would definitely recommend for something fun to do. Our guide was very knowledgeable and fun - the store after the tour offered many items, from sauce to t-shirts, packaged and individual artisian chocolates. Yum!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2muchfunsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    937
    243
    74
    41
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A gourmet's introduction to chocolate”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We were initially sceptical about touring a chocolate factory but we were pleasantly surprised and learnt alot about the production of chocolate from farm to market and the various steps of production. Tiffany, our guide was highly motivated and it was clear that she loved her job and we enjoyed sharing her enthusiasm, not to mention the mutiple samples that were part of the tour. Try and include this on your itinerary, you won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank WREFLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
569 reviews
195 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“An enjoyable tour whether you like chocolate or not.”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is an interesting tour that provides you with a specific viewpoint of this chocolate manufacturer. The different types of ingredients used in the process as well as the different types of process are clearly explained and the samples provided add to the tour's thoroughness. My only criticism is that our tour guide somewhat oversold the products but her enthusiasm did make the tour that much more enjoyable.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stucolco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Second time around”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Wife and I took the tour in 2011, and this time we brought the kids with us. Still a great tour with an energetic and fun tour guide (I think her name was Tiffani). Our eight year old loved it. Oh, and the chocolate is fantastic! Make sure to sample one of the chocolate wine syrups. Awesome!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cadzilla1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth the money and not a bit too long”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Tiffany, our tour guide, was great. She answered all questions and offered a great amount of incite into the chocolate industry. The movie explains the cultivation of the bean. Also, she explained why the family decided not to stay as a large company but rather stay as a regional company. All of the sample candies were explained as to how they were made. The company store was also great. We spent our money on first class chocolate, etc. Tiffany did this excellent presentation - and she is pregnant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles1716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whetstone Chocolates also viewed

 

Been to Whetstone Chocolates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing