We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour was great, chocolate only so-so”

Whetstone Chocolates
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.86*
and up
St Augustine Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour
More Info
$40.74*
and up
Discover St Augustine: Attractions Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off
Ranked #1 of 101 Shopping in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: St. Augustine's "Original Chocolate Tour" led by Whetstone Chocolatiers. You will be introduced t the history and making of chocolate and the Whetstone story. A 4-tiered tasting distinguishes the characteristics of our dark, milk and white chocolate, cocoa nibs and more. Taste freshly made chocolates and confections while you walk through our factory. This tour is for the chocoholic with a discriminating palate searching for the subtleties that define artisan chocolates. A decandantly delicious experience!Whetstone Chocolate Factory and Store. Chocolate Tasting Tours available Monday through Sunday. Store hours Monday through Sunday 10am - 5:30pm.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stroller parking, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Arden, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Tour was great, chocolate only so-so”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our guide was very knowledgable and the little factory was nice, but the quality of the product was disappointing. Take the tour, pass up the sales room, and buy some good chocolate elsewhere.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PGinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    969
    254
    80
    41
    21
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Informative & Delightful”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Wasn't enthused to go, but our 9-yr-old wanted to, so we did. This was surprisingly informative, explaining the difference between milk, dark and white chocolates...providing tasting samples to compare...explaining how their process differs from commercial factories...and taking a walk thru the factory. All hand made with (naturally) a gift shop at the end. I would recommend this if you get tired of all the history. It takes about an hour. And it's a trolley stop.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My kids favorite”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Of all the things we did in St Augustine this was my kids favorite!

Our host (patricia) was very nice, and fun. She let my kids help pass out the chocolate to everyone.

You learn a lot and everyone here makes you feel welcome..

this is a St. Augustine must do!!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank phasetim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Full of samples”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I went with my sister in law and her two kids. It was good that there were lots of samples through the tour to keep them engaged; however we all had to wear hair nets and her kids don't like stuff on their heads, so that was a challenge. I did enjoy the tour and learned a few new things about chocolate. It was hard to hear in the factory, but neat to see the machines and the workers.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty tour”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The chocolate was great & the history behind it was very I formative. Well worth the money. I would recommend this tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whetstone Chocolates also viewed

 

Been to Whetstone Chocolates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing