We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect again!”
Review of The Floridian

The Floridian
Ranked #27 of 589 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Innovative Southern Cuisine prepared with locally and sustainably produced ingredients. New location at 72 Spanish St.
Sylvan Lake, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect again!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Ate here for the third time last night. Wonderful remoulade shrimp n grits and the autumn salad. This food is delicious and for once there are enough vegetables. The perfect emphasis on flavor and the balance of vegetables to protein. The cashew dressing is delicious. Over the top chocolate pecan bar with caramel sauce. Obviously not from a jar or a can. Just how I really want to be eating. Just wish it was closer to Michigan so I could eat there more often. Worth a detour.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelhappi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,039
    361
    120
    47
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MD
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Different and excellent”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We love the Floridian. Always have a good meal - a very different meal from other restaurants anywhere. Fish, meat, vegetarian - you are all covered here. Can be very busy, so call ahead.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wopel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Local and Homemade”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Not a touristy style dive, but a quality and reasonably priced restaurant. The breads and the pickles were made on site as well as the sweet tea. It was an amazing lunch at a great price. Lovely outdoor seating too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Veggie friendly and delicuous”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Traveling with 2 vegetarians led us to The Floridian. We sat outside, so it helped that the weather was beautiful. The food was really good, especially the chocolate brownie we had for dessert.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NoraFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Delicious and healthy”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stopped for lunch and sat outside so we could watch the foot traffic. The menu had some interesting items and that made it hard to choose. The items chosen were delicious, the server, and I'm sorry I forgot her name was incredible taking as much time as we needed to decide even thought she was busy. She was willing to explain the beers, soft drinks and as a Guinness drinker, they don't carry it, she recommended a beer I would like. I did. It is great and a must for a great lunch. I'm sure dinner is done as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Floridian also viewed

 
St. Augustine, FL
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to The Floridian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing