We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden treasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gyro House - CLOSED

Gyro House
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

What a great find off the beaten path, away from the usual St. George Street tourist crowd. This small, clean restaurant has the most delicious gyros. My only negative comment would be that there was only one young man working in the restaurant. It was a little tough for him to take orders, prepare and serve the food, cashier and clean up. While he did an admirable job, I think he could have used some help. But back to the food, all ingredients were fresh and delicious. Try the side dish of assorted olives. And leave a generous tip, the young man deserves it.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank berlac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    10
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food! Good Price - Give it a try!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

Had plans to go to the Lightner Museum, a short walk from Gyro House. The waiter was very pleasant to chat with. Was ready for a chat but did not bother me 20 times like some places. I got the beef/lamb gyro and a few sampler sides - all of it was just right. The proportions of food was well balanced "Hefty but not so much you feel sick by the time you finish" I would eat here again with out a second thought. The curb side "meter parking" was great for me I loaded it with 2 hours of pocket change and walk to the Lightner Museum, "less than a 5 minute"

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mindlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must make the Gyro House a stop for lunch. Yummmmmmm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

Must make the Gyro House a stop for lunch. Best Gyro ever. Make sure you ask for the special gyro plus Greek salad only paid 9 bucks. The dressing on the salad had fetta cheese in it. All I have to say is yummmmmmm.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thislifeorthenext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. augustine, fl
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrible Gyros!!! Way overpriced.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

The food was awful. The service was horrible I don't even think they understand english. The food was way overprice and I had to fight about my change and was very embarassed.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cassandra p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeFuniak Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

I had never had a Gyro before it was different. I went on the Savory Faire and this was one of the stops. We got plenty to eat and it was a little different for my taste but I ate gladly and it wasn't bad at all. I don't know if I would eat there on my own unless I was a gyro fan but it was good. The meat just has a different consistency than I'm use to.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fergiebaby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gyro House also viewed

Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
St. Augustine, FL
 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing