We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so relaxed”
Review of FA Cafe

FA Cafe
Ranked #213 of 593 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
Restaurant details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“so relaxed”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We just spend a week in st augustine , and had dinner and lunch at the fa cafe ,It was a very nice relaxed restaurant. I had the grilled shrimp wich was perfectly done (one of the staff was eating it also ) and my husband had the burger . We will be back next year.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kreeft13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    37
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A+”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

FA Cafe was recommended to me by a "local". Although it is a small little place, the food is great and there is outdoor seating. It is located steps away from the beach. LOVE their BLT Wrap!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jodi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Real Deal- Low-Key/High Quality Slow Food w/ Island Flare”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

PleasNtly surprised to find bubbles-by-the-glass in what first looked to be just another beachy beer-hole. The menu is absolutely outstanding and unbelievably well-priced for the quality. We started with steamed local oysters- delicious. Then we tried the spicy fried pickles, which we're much more flavorful than expected. They were very fresh and crisp, and the "deep fried" aspect was better than average- barely greasy at all. The Jerk Fish Wrap was great for a a light bite, but I coveted every morsel of my friend's burger. The burger meat is sourced from a local farm and has never been frozen, not even for a minute before it reaches your plate. I would have to think long and hard to even try to recall another burger patty that could compete. If you make it out the historic St. Augustine and get to St. Augustine Beach, you absolutely owe it to yourself to stop at the FA CAFE, across the A1A from the ocean @ Pope Street, north of 16th.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tmm_travelsforfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“FA is Freakin' Awesome”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

"Food, friends and fantastic service from the owners and staff," says it all. We walked in and felt at home immediately. Living in the mountains of Tennessee does not allow us fresh shrimp and other seafood so to have peel-and-eat shrimp at FA Cafe was like arriving in heaven. The shrimp were hot, spicy, and meaty with great texture. They were FRESH. All of us enjoyed our evening there. My brother and his wife live in St. Augustine and ensure that they visit FA Cafe at least weekly for the fine food and friendly service.
The owners are the sort of folks who value people. They are taking their staff for a week in the Caribbean as a token of their appreciation of the employees.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bsallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giddings, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“We tried hard to make this a place we would go back to...”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

While the staff was friendly, this place is just flat out dirty. The food was below average for the price that they charge you. Maybe lunch and dinner are better than breakfast, but that is the meal that we went to. There will not be a second chance.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank jcperry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FA Cafe also viewed

St. Augustine, FL
 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Been to FA Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing