We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's the ghosts?”
Review of Ghost Hearse Tours

Ghost Hearse Tours
Ranked #52 of 117 Tours in St. Augustine
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy St. Augustine's most paranormal ghost tour! Tour the ancient city in our haunted vintage funeral coach, Stacy Marie! Tour the most haunted sites in the Old City and use the latest in paranormal investigation equipment! Receive personal attention from our licensed tour guides as they take you to St. Augustine's most active paranormal sites! Tours offered nightly by reservation only.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Where's the ghosts?”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We, unfortunately, had made reservations for the ghost hearse tour on a night that was pouring down rain. We were not able to cancel without foregoing the tour fees, so we put on our ponchos and brought our umbrellas thinking that we would only have to be in the rain during the stops. Little did we know that the hearse we had to ride in was a convertible!!! Not exactly open totally, but the top of the hearse had been raised to allow for better viewing. It would have been pretty cool in nice weather - but in the rain - not so much! The seats were wet (although the driver did try to dry them off for us) and rain came in while we were driving. Fortunately the rain did die off and we were not totally soaked through and through. As far as the tour itself - the guide was very nice, however, he took a very LONG time telling the ghost stories which were not, in most cases, ghost stories at all. Just facts about the city and the people. Our first stop was the lighthouse - no ghosts there. Second stop was a house where a murder took place (interesting story) and a national cemetary and the third and last stop was a cemetary in the city that was created for yellow fever victims - again NO GHOSTS! Now, I did not expect that we would see ghosts BUT I certainly do expect that on a ghost tour the focus would be on ghosts sitings by others and some really great ghost stories. This was more of a historical tour of the city in an open air hearse. I would not do that particular tour again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DoodleBug0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    5
    2
    4
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“All around good fun”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I took my 19 year old son, 16 year old daughter and 12 year old son on this tour and it was a huge it for all ages (including me!) after walking the city during the day, I am glad I chose the hearse tour. We walked at some places but saw more haunted areas because of the transportation. Our guide, Jeff, gave us EMF detectors which was an unexpected surprise. At certain times during the tour all of our equipment went off as Jeff had the volume up on them. He was knowledgeable on the history and took extra time with us for photos and questions. This tour was a huge hit for everyone (all ages!!)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cruising in the Hearse”
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

This was a neat tour and included some great, informative history with some chilling goosebumps appearing on my neck a couple of times.
Really enjoyed our tour guide and riding around in the hearse!

Helpful?
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GhostHearse, Owner at Ghost Hearse Tours, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your tour and thanks for the review!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun and Informative”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We had one possible ghostly interaction which was great for my 8 yr old grandson. The Guide knew the area and the stories. I have been on a few of these now and this one is well worth the money. The ghost make up their own minds on appearances your real fun is up to the guide and your own imagination.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Coni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hearse”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

If you are going to take a tour what a better way then in a hearse this is a must if you are going to take a ghost tour.If for any reason you dont see a ghost how many people could say they walked out of the back of a hearse on there own.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank martha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghost Hearse Tours also viewed

 

Been to Ghost Hearse Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing