We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view from an Irish bar”
Review of Meehan's Irish Pub

Meehan's Irish Pub
Ranked #49 of 584 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Eat, Drink, and be Irish! You'll always have a wonderful time at Meehan's, located on the waterfront in downtown Saint Augustine, FL. Meehan's Irish Pub & Seafood House is the place for locals and visitors to feel right at home in our comfortable traditional Irish Pub, Backyard or Johnny's Oyster Bar. Have a pint, swap a story, and stay for dinner. Traditional Irish food and signature seafood dishes are our specialty including, Corned Beef & Cabbage, Fish & Chips, and Shepherd's Pie. We have a variety of burgers and sandwiches, as well as a raw seafood bar and local seafood favorites. Try one of our signature dishes - Bangers & Mash, a popular dish, as well as, the Seafood Tower. Johnny's Oyster Bar upstairs has a full bar and a fabulous deck where you can overlook the Matanzas River while you dine. Join us in our "Backyard" at our Island Cafe & Tropical Bar for a Caribbean style menu and atmosphere. The pints are cold but the welcome is always warm, come join us anytime at Meehan's Irish Pub & Seafood House.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best view from an Irish bar”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

An extensive varied menu and good service. This Irish bar has the best view in the world from their patio.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dee20012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    755
    393
    162
    89
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Go!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stopped by for an early beer with my sister, very cool vibe, people are super friendly. Can see this place getting very crowded as the night goes on. A weekend must stop.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheCruzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Meehan's Irish Pub”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were steered to this place by the ticket agent at the Old Town Trolley (OTT) station, because we'd asked whether any one was serving fresh oysters! Meehan's was. A delightful place, very busy at noon, but not a significant wait. Overlooks the water (and is thereby cooled by what was a pretty strong wind). Friendly service. Prompt, too. And, excellent oysters, with a more or less standard cocktail sauce, but also a small side of horseradish (essential IMHO). Very well worth the visit. And, steps from the OTT circuit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A place I to where I would return”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Service started off a little slow it ended up good after a chat with manager. Food was great. To please a table of 4 members of my family is a true marvel

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding at Meehan's”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We got married in May and had our lunch reception at Meehan's. It was SUCH an AWESOME experience! It really couldn't have gone better! The food was fantastic! Such high quality and a lot of it!

I don't even know how to comment on the service. They were so good to us! Any request we had was met with big smiles. They had gone WAY above and beyond to not just be accomodating, but to make sure our day was special, without any worries at all. Besides the tropical storm type weather (not their fault, of course) eveything was PERFECT!

The atmosphere was great! Such a beautiful building in the middle of the beautiful city. The view of the bay was gorgeous! We really couldn't have asked for anything more. Except for maybe no wind or rain, but again that wasn't their fault. :)

I would TOTALLY recommend this place for large parties, receptions, reunions, or just to go have a nice lunch or dinner. We are hoping to be back for our annivesary!!!

Thanks again, you guys!!! Our wedding party and guests are STILL talking about how perfect your restaurant was! :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmyK29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meehan's Irish Pub also viewed

 
St. Augustine, FL
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to Meehan's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing