We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on the Bay Front”
Review of Meehan's Irish Pub

Meehan's Irish Pub
Ranked #50 of 589 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Eat, Drink, and be Irish! You'll always have a wonderful time at Meehan's, located on the waterfront in downtown Saint Augustine, FL. Meehan's Irish Pub & Seafood House is the place for locals and visitors to feel right at home in our comfortable traditional Irish Pub, Backyard or Johnny's Oyster Bar. Have a pint, swap a story, and stay for dinner. Traditional Irish food and signature seafood dishes are our specialty including, Corned Beef & Cabbage, Fish & Chips, and Shepherd's Pie. We have a variety of burgers and sandwiches, as well as a raw seafood bar and local seafood favorites. Try one of our signature dishes - Bangers & Mash, a popular dish, as well as, the Seafood Tower. Johnny's Oyster Bar upstairs has a full bar and a fabulous deck where you can overlook the Matanzas River while you dine. Join us in our "Backyard" at our Island Cafe & Tropical Bar for a Caribbean style menu and atmosphere. The pints are cold but the welcome is always warm, come join us anytime at Meehan's Irish Pub & Seafood House.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best on the Bay Front”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We love to sit on the patio, sip cider and eat DELICIOUS food at Meehans. Try the mac n cheese or the one of the yummy hamburgers. Great service, great view!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JPearl1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    761
    396
    164
    90
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“First impressions...”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Intriguing menu drew my wife and I in and to find a nice seat on the patio looking out over the water, I had surveyed the menu and found what I wanted to eat and drink. We waited and waited as the waitress continued to walk past us without any acknowledgment of our existence, this went on for about 15-20 minutes, I might be able to understand if it was even remotely busy but it was not. I am a patient man but this was quite ridiculous and as the waitress past us for the fifth or sixth time we had enough and decided to do something that have rarely done, get up and walk out. It is unfortunate that their wait staff was so inept or poorly trained that they could not say hello, I will be with you in a minute, or even make eye contact. I wish that would have been writing a review on their food instead of the lousy service, first impressions are lasting ones and this was not an enjoyable one.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doughboy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food, great service. Just like hanging out with your friends.”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We go to St. Augustine a few times a year, and this is a definite stop on our list. Large selection of irish whiskey (26 different ones) i believe. Spicy Stout steamed shrimp, Awesome. Oysters Meehan, which are grilled with parmesean and seasonings, wonderful.

Was great seeing Roland, Keiser, and the rest of the crew. See you in January..

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capua, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best of the Best in St. Augustine”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Eric, Danny, Caleb, Justin - these people went way out of their way to make our wedding party a rousing success. The food was phenomenal (corned beef & cabbage, shepard's pie, chicken, mac n' cheese)... their sincerity, service brilliance and the restaurant facility itself really made the wedding reception more than we could have hoped for. Thanks guys! Thanks, Raymond

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FixeRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“BEST FOOD & SERVICE IN ST AUGUSTINE!!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

My sister and i visited Meehans last Sunday and sat on the terrace downstairs. Great view!! Our server was very informative about the menu items and beers available on draft. Considering being in a tourist town, we were not expecting food above average, nonetheless outstanding service. But we were pleasantly surprised! I ordered the Reuben sandwich (hands down, BEST Reuben I've ever had) which came with "chips" (fries) made entirely in-house, sprinkled with this really tasty seasoning. They were also cooked to perfection. My sister ordered the Dubliner chicken which was OMG to die for!! Since the entrees were of a larger size, we didn't quite have room for dessert, but had to order the Kahlua cheesecake, and so glad we did! Perfect size for sharing. Very rich and creamy. Our server told us everything they offer is made fresh and in-house, and that was apparent. Outstanding food and wonderful staff. Even if you're just visiting St Augustine for the day, you won't want to miss this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FSU27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meehan's Irish Pub also viewed

 
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to Meehan's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing