We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel. Very clean. Good value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2012

This is a new hotel and it was very clean. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. Note that the hideabed was very very VERY uncomfortable, so much so that we had to get a second room. My son and daughter flipped a coin for a bed versus a hideabed ... and my son lost. So he and his girlfriend were looking mighty uncomfortable in the hideabed, so much so that they were planning to close it up and sleep on the carpet. So I took pity on them and I got us another room. Which I actually didn't mind, as I didn't really want to share a room with the four kids anyways ... kids are in their 20's ... so in the end the kids shared the room with two queen beds ... And my husband and I moved to a room with a king size bed. I got no bug bites in either room. The price was under $100 per room, which was good value for money. They had a decent breakfast, nothing spectacular, but entirely acceptable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J-J-9917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (757)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

669 - 675 of 757 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on I-95 en route to Disney and it was a great choice. Extremely clean hotel overall with very comfortable beds. Bathroom was spotless. Staff took great pride in the place. Breakfast was very good and included a pancake-making machine, scrambled eggs and choice of muffins. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Goingfunplaces1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

This was my first visit to this hotel. I found it to be very clean. I stayed in a room on the first floor which was very convenient for loading and unloading the car.
I looked in all corners of the room and found no dirt, crumbs, etc.

Room Tip: There are rooms available on the first floor if you have a lot of stuff to load and unload.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WiltonManorsGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Since I like to travel, I have frequently stayed with HEI and am a Priority Club member. I fully understand thin walls in hotels, etc.

Having travelled to many countries, I have finally found the most pitiful display of customer service and complete apathy from the hotel staff to include the hotel's general manager.

The hotel room (410) was clean, so early on, the hotel was holding a strong possibility of a good reveiw from me here at Trip Advisor. Fast forward to 15 minutes past midnight when the people in the next room (408) came in. After a lengthy and loud conversation in the hall, the group went into their room. The television was turned on and the loud conversations continued. These people made hot chocolate and complained about the microwave - that's how loud they were - every word of every conversation and joke was clearly audible. They woke up my entire family.

My first phone call to the front desk was at about 1 AM to Regina - no manager was on duty. I informed Regina of the problem and the room number of the loud group. No change in the situation, and I followed up with another phonecall to Regina at 1:15 AM. Still, no change in the situation. Finally, at 1:26 AM, Regina, the front desk employee, shows up at my door wanting to move my family. Rather than address the situation with the loud people, she thought it acceptable for me to gather up my belongings and move my 5 year old in her pajamas and my wife in her nightgown to another room! Great customer care - punish the innocent. Rather than submit my family to the hassle of moving to another room, I packed our bags, loaded my family in the car and left the hotel. The "best" Regina was willing to do was to give a discount of about $14 dollars. No "I'm sorry for the issue", Regina did mustered up a "drive safe" and went back to reading.

The next day I called Shannon, the desk manager then on duty. She, as expected, quickly defended her co-worker. Stating that Regina did call the room of the loud group - but yet Shannon identified the wrong room number - stating room 412. How odd that Shannon stated Regina called the loud people and that "they were getting ready to go to sleep", but listed the room number called as the wrong room. Shannon stated that Regina went to the hallway and hadn't heard any noise. Typical damage control, at least Shannon did say she was sorry for my experience. When I asked for a refund, Shannon "kicked the can down the road" and said that the general manager Elizabeth "handles those things".

Monday morning, I call Elizabeth the general manager and Elizabeth also spins the damage control and defended her staff. Stating that Regina had called the loud people, even though their phone didn't ring (I would have heard it since I could plainly hear the humming of the microwave in their room). Clearly a case of "he said, she said" by now, so rather than customer care, Elizabeth stated to me that she felt that me moving my wife and child through the hotel in their sleeping clothes to another room was acceptable customer service and that no refund would be given. I had to ask her that twice to ensure she understood what I was asking and to make sure I had correctly heard her pathic lack of customer service beliefs.

Not to worry, I will never step foot in this hotel ever again. To other travelers, there are other hotels in the area, don't waste your money and time at this HIE.

Room Tip: Find another hotel...........
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank SFC31B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We decided to stay in St. Augustine at the last minute and booked a room based on a stay at a Holiday Inn Express a few days earlier in Jacksonville and the reviews. We were not disappointed. The room was very clean, comfortable, modern and a great shower. Felt like a much more expensive hotel. The only downside was not being closer to the historic area but an easy 10 minute drive. The front desk attendant Regina was very nice and welcoming. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MNpeppercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

I found this hotel thanks to the other members of Trip Advisor. The hotel is about 15 minutes from North of Downtown St Augustine and within 1 mile of the two outlet centers. I found the checkin easy and the rooms were nice and for the most part was clean. We arrived on the day before Thanksgiving and the hotel was quite but got busier during our stay. Even with a fuller hotel, there was always parking. The breakfast in the morning was good and saved us money during our stay. The breakfast included hot items like scrambled eggs, ham/sausage (changed daily), biscuits and gravey. We got a kick out of the made quick pancakes that turned out a delicious pancake in about a minute. If you don't care for the breakfast or who want something after the dining area closes, there is a brand new 24 hr Dunkin Donuts right next door. They were even open on Thanksgiving for some quick snacks. Just a quick observation - the sinks in the bathroom were a little high for my 5 year old to reach. Considering that Holiday Inn Express hotels try to cater to a business traveler it was a minor inconvenience. The only issue we had with the hotel, is that the morning we departed, we noticed black mold on the a/c system. This was concerning since my son has asthma and was sneezing that morning. I brought this to the attention of the front desk manager who was surprised because they cleaned out all the systems the week before. I would still recommend this hotel... just check the front of the a/c system to identify any issues.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We got an early check in and had a good, big, comfortable room with a safe and exceptionally fast internet (I uploaded 20Mb of photos to be printed in the UK much more quickly than I could have at home). Helpful staff and the usual OK breakfast. A reasonably good location out by the interstate, although we didn't find anything worth buying in the nearby outlet stores. St Augustine itself didn't impress us - hard to park on a cold, drizzly day but at least we found a superb place to eat that evening - the Back 40 Urban Cafe (difficult to find but well worth the effort). So, 4+/5.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
#17 of 78 in St. Augustine
838 reviews
4.9 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,303 reviews
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine I-95
5.3 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North

Address: 2300 State Road 16, St. Augustine, FL 32084-0550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
#2 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#6 Best Value Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: $103 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Augustine Hotel's Old City Charm Delights GuestsWith breathtaking beaches, thrilling attractions, historic sites, booming businesses and more, St. Augustine is an unforgettable place. You can easily experience all the "Ancient City" has to offer at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North. Located off I-95, the hotel's guests in St. Augustine, FL are close to St. Augustine Airport and downtown.Whatever your definition of fun, you're sure to find it here in the nation's oldest city. The hotel's address in St. Augustine, FL is just six miles from the charming historic district. Beach lovers can delight in Anastasia State Park with gorgeous beaches and fishing. The hotel's location near Flagler College also gives guests the ability to tour this amazing hotel-turned-college. From Ripley's Believe It or Not! to the Fountain of Youth, our patrons can enjoy it all.Corporate guests appreciate our location off I-95 and six miles from St. Johns County Convention Center. The hotel's location near Flagler College, the Florida National Guard and many major companies makes business travel simple, too. The free high-speed, wireless Internet access , 24 hour Business Center and spacious meeting rooms also help you work with ease.You'll love unwinding in the heated, indoor pool, working out in the 24-hour Fitness Center and enjoying our shopping package with St. Augustine Premium Outlets. You'll also enjoy our complementary hot Breakfast Buffet every morning. Book now for modern fun and comfort in the "Ancient City." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Saint Augustine North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing