We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what the photos depicted at all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Augustine Beach KOA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not what the photos depicted at all”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Worse part of the steady was the location. Website photos make it look more secluded. It is sandwiched between a trailer park on one side, a strip mall on the other, a fairly busy road with another strip mall on that side. Did not feel like camping at all. Constant cars passing. Staff was friendly. Cabin was somewhat adequate. A/C is in the back bedroom of the two room cabins. Back room was cold, front room was hot, even wth the connecting door open. Grills and fire pits were one unit and were ground level. Bending over to cook puts you over the heat more than a waist level grill would. My light out on the porch was missing and when I requested one, they said they were ordered, but not in yet. Nothing was done to remedy the situation and we were there three nights. The women's shower room cleanliness was described by my wife as horrible. The men's was relativity clean, nothing fancy, but clean and functional.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at St. Augustine Beach KOA, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate the opinions you shared regarding the photos of our property but they were taken without any alterations and show our property as any camper would experience it today. Please accept our apologies for the lighting situation and know that we are working hard to improve all aspects of our campground.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    60
    58
    22
    20
See reviews for
80
73
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I drove 5 hours from west palm beach and left my cabin was full of fleas,bathroom extremely dirty,small pool located at the front gate the pool area not clean nothing to do the rental bikes and pedal boats in pieces picnic tables and grills broken the campground is located in the middle of town when you can see all the houses next to a broken fence Mosquitos bugs super nasty not good for kids because they can get sick.This is the worst campground to be we all hated we left in 40 min after I arrive the only good thing I got my money back but I wasted a full day driving for nothing

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuchi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at St. Augustine Beach KOA, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We regularly inspect all of our lodging for any issues and make sure that we use prevention measures against these very situations. While camping is an outdoor experience where you can expect bugs, we inspected your cabin prior to your arrival and after your departure without finding any 'fleas'. We'll continue to do our best to improve all aspects of our park for future guests so thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Augustine hotels

Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Just stayed 3 nights at this KOA. The staff we encountered were extremely nice. The campground and pool was cleaned regularly. We took our grandchildren. They had paddle boats and little trike-type bikes and prices are reasonable. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Make sure to mention if you want longer site. Also, mention if you want to be close to one of the 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at St. Augustine Beach KOA, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you so much for leaving us a great review here. Our staff goes out of the way to make sure every guest feels welcome and we really appreciate you noticing our wonderful amenities. Hope we see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We were there for this past Memorial Weekend and couldn't have had a nicer time. The spot was big (#80) and the staff was the friendliest. They had guys on the golf carts non stop - picking up trash, helping campers... The location was just right. Only a few minutes to downtown and literally about a mile from the beach.
We will definitely come back and recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at St. Augustine Beach KOA, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
We are so glad to hear that you had a wonderful time at our campground. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review! Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Like anything...you get what you pay for. Not sure how they get away with advertising this is a "beach" property. The Beach is a mile or so away.other then that dissapointment, I think the beautiful, friendly resident ducks swimming in the nasty pool should have been a good indication of what I would find in the bathroom and showers o room. YUK...we are full timers and were not aware of other options so we stayed one night and moved on the following day.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank cocoabeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at St. Augustine Beach KOA, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We wanted to take a moment and address some of your concerns and apologize for your stay not being what you expected. The name of our campground is St Augustine Beach KOA because we reside within the city of St Augustine Beach which is separate and right across the border from St Augustine. We do our best to communicate with all potential guests that were do not have beach access and would have absolutely told you that if you had called on the phone to discuss your reservations prior to arriving. We'll do our best to communicate this more clearly in the future as well as investigate the situation with the bathrooms and see if we can have them cleaned on a more regular basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

This is pretty much just your average campground. The location is great for the beach and staff was friendly on the positive side...but the bathrooms are pretty yucky and there's not much else going for it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AudreyW907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at St. Augustine Beach KOA, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hello Audrey, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We'll make sure to address your concerns with our restrooms and see if we can find a way to clean them on a more regular basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Our campsite was next to the utility area of a fast food restaurant located on A1A. We had the noise and fumes from the exhaust fan, 12 hours a day. One night the 2 large propane tanks were filled, it was quite noisy and not exactly the safest feeling. The KOA had only about 20 pct occupancy, so I don't know why were given such a horrible site. One guest had their dog in the fenced pool area, though pets were prohibited. I will not be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ed Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at St. Augustine Beach KOA, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hello Ed, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate you bringing some of this to our attention including the dog inside the pool area which we do not allow. In the future, it really helps us if you are able to mention this to our staff when you see it so we can take care of it immediately. With regards to your site location, we would have been more than happy to relocate you to a different site if you weren't completely satisfied if you had come in and asked. We hope you'll give us another chance in the future to make your vacation memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.8 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#50 of 78 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Augustine Beach KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Augustine Beach KOA

Property: St. Augustine Beach KOA
Address: 525 W Pope Rd, St. Augustine, FL 32080-9132
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Specialty Lodging in St. Augustine
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Augustine Beach KOA 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're well-situated to explore the historic city of St. Augustine from this campground on Anastasia Island. Visit the Fountain of Youth park (known as the site where Ponce de Leon landed in 1513), the St. Augustine Lighthouse and Museum and the Lightner Museum-filled with artifacts from America's "Gilded Age." Anglers can cast for snapper, grouper, amberjack and other tasty fish on a deep-sea charter or from the pier that's just a mile away. From your Cabin, RV site or tent site, take a 3/4-mile walk to the ocean or enjoy on-site amenities, including a pool, fishing pond and paddleboats ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your St. Augustine Beach KOA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Augustine Beach Koa Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing