We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urban camping - for those so inclined”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Augustine Beach KOA
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We reserved here for a week as part of our vacation this year. This KOA is a nice property, but one can see that it was once not so surrounded by the town. We liked the location but the traffic noise and so on were not for us. That said, it is an ideal location to tour the area, is good value for the money and has a fine set of amenities. We have found the staff to be friendly, helpful and polite. The place is very clean and well looked after. We would certainly recommend this KOA to friends.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PKinNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 224 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2012

Just under a mile from the beach, this very quaint KOA offers a great value to guests. When we travel in our RV, I dislike gigantic Rv parks that seem more like mall parking lots. This campground is nothing like that... it is relatively small- each site is nestled within a picturesque canopy and is allotted a very comfortable amount of room. Almost every site has a view of the water, if not directly on the water. (The water, I should note, is a small man-made pond- still very nice to look at with plenty of fish and fowl to watch.) The staff are all very pleasant and accommodating without being obtrusive, and all of the other guests here seem friendly and easy-going.

Closest to the KOA is a main intersection which features a Wendy's, a 24-hour CVS, Dominos Pizza, a general looking sort of pub and a Dollar General Store. A block away is a fAmily-style Italian restaurant which came highly reccomended by KOA staff and smelled very good when i passed. The beach is just a short bike ride away, with plenty of places to grab a bite- I recommend the FA Cafe for atmosphere, value and QUALITY above all else. A 2 mile bikeride back towards town will bring you to another great restaurant, Gypsy Cab Co. There is also a variety if pubs a d shops in that area as well.

Overall, I am extremely impressed with this campground. The location is just fantastic. We would stay longer if it  was a little warmer, and look forward to DEFINITELY coming back for a longer stay in the spring.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmm_travelsforfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at the St. Augustine Beach KOA over Labor Day weekend in one of their 2 room Kamping Kabins. The Kabin was lakefront with a great porch swing and deck overlooking the water. Although the water level was a bit low, it still was full of turtles and ducks that were fun to feed and watch. The grounds at the campsite are kept clean and the property is full of trees. There are tons of Kabins on the lake and a few off the lake. The campsite has lots of RV spots amongst the trees. They seemed a bit tight to get in to, but then again I don't own a RV so I'm not sure how easy it is to manuver. Yes, this campsite is behind a strip mall but I didn't even notice it. The location is great...less than a mile to the beach and 3 miles to downtown. There is a CVS within a block along with some fast food rest. We walked to the CVS a couple of times to pick up things- very handy! The property is very quiet and clean. We used the bathrooms by the pool and they were always kept clean and bug free! The pool area looked nice and the pool water was clear, never actually made it in the pool though because we were soo busy! I would highly reccommend this KOA....we are making plans already to return!

Room Tip: If you are looking at renting a cabin....pay the couple extra dollars for a lakefront. The other on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank awatson1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

When we visit St. Augustine we stay here because of the location, the staff and how nice they keep it. What makes this a special place are the owners. We pulled in and one AC wasn't working so Ed, the owner, changed the plug and breaker and with that not fixing the problem, offered to assist in changing the plug on my shore line. He did it for me since he had the tools and got things running! THAT is exceptional customer service and that is why we love it here (besides just loving this town).

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mfreeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Less than mile to beach, very clean bathrooms, friendly and accommodating staff. Pretty campus tucked in behind strip shopping center. Good mix of retirees and families staying there. Only 15 min drive to historic St Augustine. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merrydb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here as part of our vacation. We stayed May 31st. We pulled in and the staff was very nice and friendly. We got to our site (tent) and it was very small. We were lucky that the campground was not busy but we did not have much room on our site. We do have a big tent that sleeps 7 but it took up most of the site. The bathrooms were clean and so were the showers. Overall it is in a great location to visit St. Augustine but I am not sure if I will return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orionshorti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Great park turtle pond and fishing but the staff was not very great at checkin. only two elderly staff members at that park were nice. But very nice park turtles in pond and fish, pool, game room and cabins

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rmv123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
1.5 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
901 reviews
4.9 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#9 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,400 reviews
4.6 mi away
Compass RV Park
Compass RV Park
#1 of 33 in St. Augustine
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
830 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Augustine Beach KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Augustine Beach KOA

Address: 525 W Pope Rd, St. Augustine, FL 32080-9132
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Specialty Lodging in St. Augustine
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Augustine Beach KOA 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're well-situated to explore the historic city of St. Augustine from this campground on Anastasia Island. Visit the Fountain of Youth park (known as the site where Ponce de Leon landed in 1513), the St. Augustine Lighthouse and Museum and the Lightner Museum-filled with artifacts from America's "Gilded Age." Anglers can cast for snapper, grouper, amberjack and other tasty fish on a deep-sea charter or from the pier that's just a mile away. From your Cabin, RV site or tent site, take a 3/4-mile walk to the ocean or enjoy on-site amenities, including a pool, fishing pond and paddleboats ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your St. Augustine Beach KOA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Augustine Beach Koa Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing