We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must If You Love Authenic Southern Italian Fare”

Casa Benedetto's Ristorante
Ranked #7 of 593 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Casa Benedetto's is a family owned restaurant featuring authentic Sicilian homestyle cooking. We come from a long line of talented cooks who believe that the best food comes from using the freshest best ingredients available prepared with love and attention to detail.We pride ourselves in keeping alive the traditional "holiday foods" we grew up with that not many care to take the time & trouble to prepare from scratch in our busy modern world. Casa Benedetto's is open for lunch and dinner Monday thru Saturday We always have Sinatra singing in the background, fresh linens on the tables& candlelight in the evenings. Our staff is trained to make your visit a pleasant one and we strive to meet all special dietary needs or favorite dishes that may be missing from our menu that you desire Gluten free meals are always available.We are accepting cash or debit for payment in an effort to keep our prices competitive. We are closed on Sundays but do open for Mother's Day Sunday.
Kennebunk, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“A Must If You Love Authenic Southern Italian Fare”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We dined here a year ago based on Trip Advisor recommendations and gave it a "5" in all categories. We likened it to the North End in Boston only a bit more South. And it has not changed a bit. Still wonderful Sothern Italian cuisine.

This is a small place - seats 28 indoors with optional outdoor seating - perfect for warm Florida days. I'd describe it as "funky" - a small A-frame building with loads of character.

We dined there 2 nights and our servers, Richard and Mareka were both excellent. Our first night it was quite busy and they did a great job taking care of the tables. Our second night was more quiet so we had time to chat with them - very personable. Kudos to these two young folks.

And the food - we had veal parm, chicken parm, chicken francese,pasta sides, soup, salad, and the to die for tiramasu. The portions are very large - we took doggy bags home and we didn't hold back. The house wines at $7 were a very generous pour - chianti and pinot gris - and delicious.

The chef/owner, Robyn, visited the tables on the slower night and it was pleasant to chat with her. Very nice personal touch. She has trained a sous chef but still is hands on chef.

A 15 minute ride south of St. Augustine - definitely worth a dining experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlohaTravelerOahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,414
    254
    78
    36
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rincon GA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Why is this not higher on the list??”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I always check out Tripadvisor before going out of town. Based upon the listings, I had another restaurant on our "where to eat" list ahead of this one. Thank goodness the other restaurant didn't work out. The place is small "intimate" inside. There are tables outside but last weekend was not a typical warm Florida night. We had our 11 year old son & 13 year old son with us. They do not like to try new dishes so it is a struggle to eat out with them. Even they loved it! Our 11 year old didn't leave any of the chicken parmegian behind to the surprise of our server! My 13 year old finally realizes what true Italian spaghetti & meatballs are. Bottom line - run, do not walk to this gem. You will not regret it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmc063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“As good as it gets. Must visit when nearby.”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

The food is great, the staff is friendly, the experience top notch. Really need to support such a fine establishment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ocamicak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Italian!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Italian cuisine is my favorite. I have eaten this type of food from NYC to Chicago to California and in between, and I can honestly say that Caffe Benedetto equals the best I have ever tasted. What a joy to find this little jewel of a restaurant in such an unexpected place! This will definitely be on my list of places to visit again and again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David_2Teach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson,mi
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic homemade Italian made in an intimate Family setting.”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Delicious made from scratch pastas and family
recipes. Small,intimate setting with absolutely
Some of the best Italian food I've ever tasted.
Just like being at a homemade Family dinner
With your Sicilian grandma cooking for you!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjswartout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Benedetto's Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Casa Benedetto's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing