We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T DO IT!!! Buy an EMF meter and go on your own.”

Ripley's Ghost Train Adventure
Ranked #45 of 121 Tours in St. Augustine
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I've been on several ghost tours, including the Ghost Adventures Tour in St. Augustine (which was great!). If you want to ride around on a "train" packed with other people, this would be the tour for you. First stop, the Fort, where the group is split into two, with separate tour guides. Boring stories, boring delivery, disinterested guides made us leave the group and go off on our own. Bell rings, back on the train. Ride across the street to stand outside the cemetery and listen to more boring stories. Off on our own again. Then, back to Ripley's museum for a tour in the dark, which was the only good part of the tour. All the "guides" seemed like they were so over doing their jobs and just going through the motions. At the Fort, one group came back to the train to find their seats had been taken and they couldn't sit together. The male of the group decided to walk back to his car and leave the tour. The tour guide then continued to bring this up during the tour and make rude comments and jokes about him leaving. Very unprofessional. Get your own EMF meter and go out "hunting" on your own. Take lots of pictures around the different locations and you will see orbs (we did). You don't need to waste your money on this trip to do that! Ripley's Believe it or Not . . you've been ripped off.

Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly K, General Manager at Ripley's Ghost Train Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your ghost tour! We are going to be opening two brand new tours in about 3 weeks. We would be happy to offer you complimentary tickets to try one of these out to see if it is more to your liking. We do realize that on these tours, we aren't going to have something happen every night, but usually, several people at least come away with great photos that they share and some great ghost stories. I am very sorry that thte tour wasn't to your taste. We certainly never want anyone to go away unhappy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 298 of 392 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Seriously, what a waste of money.... The tour guides were disinterested and just going through the motions. The stories are boring and just never end. Nothing happened at all.... Never again!

1  Thank alee1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly K, General Manager at Ripley's Ghost Train Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

I am so sorry that you didn't enjoy your tour! We are going to be hosting two brand new tours in about 3 weeks. We would be happy to offer you complimentary tickets to try one of these out to see if it is more to your liking. Again, we never want anyone to go away unhappy. We do realize that on these tours, we aren't going to have something happen every night, but usually, several people at least come away with great photos that they share and some great ghost stories. I am very sorry that thte tour wasn't to your taste. We certainly never want anyone to go away unhappy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We loved the whole experience. The tour guide was awesome. She got everyone involved and excited. It was neat to go into ripley's after dark too!

Thank laracergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly K, General Manager at Ripley's Ghost Train Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you so much for posting such a nice review! We are so glad that you enjoyed the guides and the tour itself. I hope you got some "ghostly" pictures! Thank you for taking the time to share such a nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were super excited to go on the black train for a tour and some ghost hunting fun. The Mr. X book per group for the free gift was way too much build up. The ride was comfortable to the first stop... acting was on the poor side and than nothing happened but sweat. Off to the cemetery for the big question from my husband... how much did you spend for this? The only part that was fun was the guest that pulled our kids hair every once in a while... that got them good. Inside the castle was neat and if the lighting was better at night it could have been the best part. As we waited in the lobby for the group to enter from the train several people left the tour. The death story was told over and over and over... we wanted to fall asleep. The photos were lack luster for the movie... no 3D. We were horrified to have spent that much money!

1  Thank wanders9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly K, General Manager at Ripley's Ghost Train Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

I am so sorry that you didn't enjoy the tour. We try very hard to offer something for everyone during the tours. We are so sorry that we missed the mark in your eyes and will certainly work on our shortcmings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was not a good tour. I've taken many ghost tours in other cities such as Charleston, SC so this suffered greatly by comparison. The little devices they handed out were sort of hokey. The last stop by the cemetery was the better part and more of the tour needed to be on that level.

Thank CactusBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly K, General Manager at Ripley's Ghost Train Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

I am so sorry that you didn't enjoy the tour! The devices that we use are the same ones that are utilized by actual paranormal investigators. Most people thoroughly enjoy utilizing them. I am sorry that we ultimately fell short of your expectations. We do have two new tours coming in the fall, we hope that one of these will be more to your liking. Thank you for sharing your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley's Ghost Train Adventure also viewed

 

Been to Ripley's Ghost Train Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing