We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back 40 good food and lots of it”

The Back 40 Urban Cafe
Ranked #10 of 655 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Back 40 is an hold house built in 1897. It is been a local St. Augustine favorite for years. We have a very unique offering, specializing in Tex-Mex, Caribbean, and Vegetarian offerings. We have a great patio area that is fully shaded year round and is pet friendly. We have some of the friendliest staff in Saint Augustine and very talented cooks in the kitchen. All food is made from fresh products that are delivered daily. You can tailor your meal to meet your needs. We make all of our own sauces, dressings and salsa. We do not deep fry any product except for our fresh tortilla chips. You will find our portions a great value for the price. Come experience the best St. Augustine has to offer.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great service, friendly staff, large portions of good food, outdoor seating, menu is extensive, kids menu available, daily specials

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,077)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Reminded us of a local restaurant in Bar Harbor Maine. Fabulous wet burrito and quesadilla..,, great lunch or quick dinner

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank collegeboundtenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice place, good food, will certainly come back. We ordered the jerk chicken with the rice and beans side, very mexican.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank J3533SWguillermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped for lunch I ordered the California Ruben with the Caribbean slaw and my husband got the pot pie. Not much meat on my Ruben and it was nothing special did not care for the dry Caribbean slaw. My husband pot pie was very plentiful but a little bland! Very cute little house converted into a lovely cottage restaurant. The salads looked really good that others around had ordered. Maybe we just ordered the wrong thing!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 9NancyL9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a super cute little place off the beaten track. We sat outside underneath strings of white lights. They run a very affordable happy hour from 3-6pm, even on the Saturday we visited, $2 beers, $1 off wine, and $3 single tacos. All of us cleared our plates. Would definitely recommend for an affordable meal away from the crowds.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank exploremorefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Back 40 Urban Cafe also viewed

 
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to The Back 40 Urban Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing