We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!”

The Back 40 Urban Cafe
Ranked #9 of 589 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My favorite place in St. Augustine! The food is always fresh and cooked to order! The burrito is the largest and best, and the salads are unbelievable! The jerk chicken and pineapple quesadilla is awesome! I had the Churro Cheesecake and it was delicious! No matter how many times I've been there, I'm always excited to go back!
By the way, the servers are great too!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    677
    194
    47
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, TN
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This place was amazing! I saw the review on here and knew we had to try it. It is a hidden treasure for sure. It is obvious that many of the locals frequent it and it seemed like a local hangout. The food was amazing, even for me, who is gluten free. Also, the prices are extremely reasonable.Be ready to take home leftovers as the servings are big! This is a definite not miss each time we return!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimlyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Funky and Friendly”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stopped here on our way south. It's a little hard to find from 95, but not too far. The atmosphere was funky and friendly with a local feel (not touristy like most of St. Augustine). I love when an old house is made into a restaurant. They have nice cheap happy hour deals. We tried all the taco flavors. The ingredients were fresh. Delicious combinations. Good service. We will definitely make this a regular stop on future Florida trips.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ashevillejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome place!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We loved this restaurant! They had unique beers and food. Try the black bean hummus. It sounds weird but was great. The wet burritos are huge!

Helpful?
1 Thank Saraleeseberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Always fun and delicious”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is one of our regular stops in Saint Augustine. The menu is solid, reasonably priced and generally interesting. The beer selection is good and the wines, while limited, are very reasonable and inexpensive. The place itself is fun and super casual. It’s in a house and each room features a different décor. The staff is all super friendly and laid back. We’ve had several of the appetizers, sandwiches, specialties, and a dessert or two. In terms of appetizers, the Black Bean Hummus is inventive with just the right touch of spice (and the pita chips are super good), the Vegetarian 3 Bean Chili and Chips is a must try and the Soup du Jour is always good. If you like avocado then try the Island Bowl. It’s fresh and filling. The Chili Mac Bowl is another good bet. The Wet Burrito is super tasty, not to mention monstrous and what’s not to like about the Back 40 Meatloaf Burger made with local ground beef? And don’t forget the Cuban. It’s creative and the mustard adds just the right touch to make it memorable. The last time we ate here they had a “sour orange” cheesecake made from fruit off the tree on their property that tasted just like a Creamsicle. How cool is that?

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UnpretentiousFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Back 40 Urban Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Back 40 Urban Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing