We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great price!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Back 40 Urban Cafe

The Back 40 Urban Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Soups, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

the perfect place for a casual inexpensive meal that is always tasty. We love this little place. it is off the beaten track - with easy parking. The place is not fancy but they always serve well prepared and interesting food.The black bean hummas served with pita and veggies is my favoirtie and also i love the rice bowls - spciey but not too spicey.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bella1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    635
    185
    43
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Surprise find”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Found this little spot and had dinner. Funky atmosphere, great service. Had the jerk chicken nachos but they were not spicy. But filling and lots of toppings. Then had the special which was spinach topped with couscous and done Quinoa and grilled shrimp. The shrimp were delicious and the test was pretty mediocre. We left very full, we ate everything but the flavones just weren't outstanding for us. Wine was fine and it was very reasonable. I would definitely return.

Helpful?
4 Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best kept little secret in St. Augustine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Back 40 Urban Café is a four-star restaurant that thinks it's a little dive. As you walk onto the front porch, it feels like your neighborhood country bar. Inside, stunning local artwork adorns the walls and you realize you're just walking through a house that's been turned into a restaurant. The coffee is roasted right in St. Augustine and the ground beef is local (and you can tell). It offers a smaller menu, as much fancier places often do. You can order the best burrito that you've probably ever eaten or an amazing upside-down chicken pot pie for around ten bucks. My daughter ordered a cheese quesadilla off the kids' menu and got a whole wheat tortilla, real cheese and a huge portion of authentic rice and beans. Most chains who charge a lot more than five dollars would not use real cheese and more expensive and nutritious tortillas for a kid. Everything that my family and friends have ever had here was nothing less than excellent, and especially for the price. Go to the Back 40 Urban Café. It might be my favorite restaurant in town. Or don't go and leave more for us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food in a simple setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

The setting is simple, with seating in multiple rooms in an old home and a deck out back, so don't expect luxury. Our server was friendly and good. My food was good too. I'd recommend the tostada, a Tuesday special: nothing fancy, just a delicious mess of foods. The mud pie was also good: a warm brownie topped by mocha ice cream and other things. If you eat those dishes you'll have a good meal. Unfortunately, the men's room suffered from not-frequent-enough cleanings on this visit. I'd try this place again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SelfMade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Loved the jerk chicken! Salads were awesome, great presentation. Service was very friendly, shame no room for dessert. LIve orange tree outside. Great place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank chplinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Back 40 Urban Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Back 40 Urban Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing