We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little find”

The Back 40 Urban Cafe
Ranked #8 of 579 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Soups, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Curry chic wrap with jerk chic. Cashews, greens, delicious sauce!!! Bikers beware sandy parking lot. Upon my return on a bike. Ill park a block up the road in a hard surface and hoof it. Almost dropped my bike getting in the lot. How about thinking of opening a backside to the parking.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Loydcanal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    645
    187
    43
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
174 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Amazing flavors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Looking for a restaurant off the beaten track in the oh so touristic St Augustine we landed in Back 40. What a great place. A real informal cafe with quite a simple menu that has a mexican touch and many veggie options.
We had simple starters: black bean hummus with pita and nacho chips with salsa. And you could taste that it was all home made, it just had that extra touch to it.
What really did it was the jerk chicken that came as part of the island bowl. An amazing blend of flavors that created a taste I am sure I will long to sometime in future and will try to recreate. I asked for the ingredients and Brian was so kind to reveal his secret. I am not going to tell, you will have to go and taste for your self.
And also great value for money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Marjo1187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It was better than I remembered”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Seven of us went to The Back 40 for lunch on Saturday July 20th and it was just great. It is a small restaurant but they pushed tables together and were able to accommodate us, My wife and I had been there once before and really enjoyed the food and the funky atmosphere of the place, but when you bring five other people you hope you remembered correctly. We had great food, and the service could not be better. I had the Cuban sandwich, the best I ever had. Almost everyone had a different meal for lunch. The taco's are a must, especially the shrimp tacos, and both people who had the Island Bowl loved it. The prices are very reasonable, especially for this quality and level of service. A "don't miss" if in St. Augustine, a truly undiscovered gem.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bigarn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine
Level Contributor
175 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Local Hidden Treasure full of surprises”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have driven by this little house for years and always wondered how the food was. What a wonderful surprise! First of all, the place is HUGE with several different unique rooms to eat in.
The menu is very fairly priced with fantastic happy hour specials everyday 3-6. They have their incredible tacos a la carte for $2 and $3 dollars. We had a jerk chicken taco, shrimp taco, and mahi taco. They were all delicious! We also had the jerk chicken nachos! Yummy nachos with tons of melted cheese, black beans, jalapenos, tomatoes, lettuce, sour cream, salsa, and we added avocado. Everything was so yummy! They have a nice selection of fun beers to try which we did. If you don't know which one to try or even what to eat, there is an amazing waitress named Angela is super knowledgeable and super sweet! We will definitely be working our way through this menu! Looking forward to the Cuban sandwich, chicken pot pie and the wet burrito! THIS PLACE IS A MUST if you are in the vicinity! If you are not, make the drive! Its worth it! PS- the food is super FRESH!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jillbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Lots of Vegetarian Options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Although the Back 40 Urban is not directly in the tourist historical district, it was worth the drive. Lots of vegetarian options. Had the veggie tacos - delicious! Was a bit disappointed in the veggie chili dip, but the key lime pie made up for it. Colorful atmosphere in an old house. Recommend, especially to vegetarians.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Back 40 Urban Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Back 40 Urban Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing