We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SLOW Service. Be Prepared to Wait an Hour.”

Pacific Asian Bistro
Ranked #241 of 584 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Chinese, Japanese
Restaurant details
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“SLOW Service. Be Prepared to Wait an Hour.”
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

I have been a loyal customer since Pacific opened, but the service for the past year has been ridiculous. Should you choose to place a carry-out order or even worse dine-in, be prepared to wait an hour or more for any dish to arrive at your table or be available for takeout. They refuse to hire additional staff to meet the demand. I can only imagine it's to keep more of their profit because they charge premium prices due to very little competition in the area. Yes, the food is good, but it's not worth the wait. Some elsewhere until they get their act together.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kskutie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    14
    4
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE BEST!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The word is definitely getting out about this outstanding Chinese and Sushi restaurant. Small, clean, and outstanding food. Go early or go for lunch. You won't regret it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank dsauls93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
133 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“What a Find”
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

We visit the area once a year for a few days and a must for us is some really fine sushi and they have it. We have eaten there three times now. Seaweed salad was crisp and cold and excellent. It pains me to say that the edamame was not as good as we've had other places and I rated it as just OK. We asked the waitress about some specials and she listed a Fatty Tuna, a pepper Tuna, and a Striped Bass carpaccio. All was wonderful in its taste and presentation and we got good choices from our waitress. They have an extensive menu and it's hard to cut our choices to just a few. Can't wait until next year.

Helpful?
Thank DalenM782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negril
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Iron Chef quality”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Tucked away in the secluded Palencia shopping center, Pacific Asian is a treasure worth looking for. The fish is as fresh as can be found in Vancouver or Hawaii. The rolls are innovative and plated like art. The combinations of sweet, savory and spicy dance in your mouth while Chef Mas comes up with delight after delight.
You'd never guess that the Chinese food is equally phenomenal. The soup will warm your heart, the salads and sauces will tingle your taste buds. Sit at the sushi bar and chat with the maestro. His talent has no limits.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank galpickney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best sushi in town”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Mas is awesome at making sushi. Very fresh. Large portions. We go almost every week.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank rblackie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Asian Bistro also viewed

St. Augustine, FL
St. Augustine, FL
 
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to Pacific Asian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing