We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience”

Black Raven Pirate Ship
Ranked #57 of 190 things to do in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Black Raven was designed and built for its purpose, to be a floating performance stage. Our goal is to provide a variety of live dynamic and interactive entertainment programs for all ages. The crew’s ambition is to deliver the best live pirate show in Florida regardless the audience’s age group. The performance is rehearsed, but unscripted, allowing the pirates to improvise with the crowd. We are currently offering three different programs:1. The Adventures for all Ages.2. The Treasure Hunt3. The Club 21+ (adults only)In general, the Adventures for all Ages depart every day at 2:15 PM and 6:15 PM except during weekends (Sat & sun) when the 2:15 trip is replaced with the Treasure Hunt. The Club 21+ sails every Friday and Saturday evenings at 8:15 PM. Reservation is always recommended and, please call ahead to reconfirm the departures. Do not travel from “far away” without checking with us. Please, remember our schedule may change according to the weather.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We did this for our daughter's 5th birthday and it was a big hit. We chose the treasure hunt and had a blast. I ordered the tickets ahead of time by phone and we had no problems checking in a getting our tickets as promised. The "Pirates" made sure to interact with all of the children and make them feel included. My daughter was especially glad to see there was another girl pirate on board and was thrilled to be able to have one on one time with her a get a pic. The reason I did not give excellent was because the show started out a little slow and for those who were not sitting right by the action it was a little hard to understand what was being said at times. But the kids had a great time and so did we! The trip included face painting done by the pirates themselves and a crash course on how to sword fight like a real pirate. This all lead up to being chased down by another ship captained by Blackbeard. There were more sword fights, cannon fire and black powder guns that made the adventure even better. At the end the treasure was recovered and the booty slit up with all the kids aboard. WE had a great time.

4  Thank Neonnewbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 178 of 340 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you go to St. Augustine - this is a must do. Lots of fun - a great show for the whole family. Surprise at the end for the kids, and even a raid on the ship by Blackbeard himself!

2  Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackRaven5Star, Owner at Black Raven Pirate Ship, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Thank you William, I am glad that you and your family enjoyed the adventure. Very few expect the initial attack by Blackbeard, it is an unusual start of a cruise and builds up the expectation. Again, thank you for taking the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I got free tickets from a Facebook ad. It was a lot of fun but it helps to have a fun crowd! The crew was great and never broke character, polite and funny. I do you think the prices are a bit high! But it can be a fun experience if you are looking for as close to an authentic experience as you can get on a pirate ship! The intercoastal offers beautiful scenery and tons of dolphins by the fort!!

1  Thank Tami P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackRaven5Star, Owner at Black Raven Pirate Ship, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Tami, Thank you for your feed-back. You are bringing up a very valid point as for a fun crowd. This is discussed very often among the crew and it is an extremely important issue. If the crowd is not in to it, it becomes so much more difficult for the crew to produce a good show. However, if we have a fun crowd, the show becomes “unstoppable”. We have also seen that there is a big difference between a crowd that has paid full price and a crowd that has got deeply discounted tickets. The valuation and expectation becomes a factor. A fully paid crowd is much more in to the show and when you have an interested audience it makes a huge difference. Like night and day. Again, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a fun trip for one and all. This was my Fifty Something Birthday and our group of girlz had a blast. We took the evening tour to enjoy the sunset and beverage. This is something to be planned in advance and make reservations. Each year we all try to come up with something different to celebrate our birthday. This was a winner! The entertainment was fun.....

Thank tammy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackRaven5Star, Owner at Black Raven Pirate Ship, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Tammy, thank you very much for your review. It means so much when somebody takes the time to compliment the crew and their show. I will let them know that you wrote, they will be thrilled. We are also delighted that your “Fifty Something” birthday was a success and I hope the pirates serenaded you. We hope to see you again. Let us know the next time you are coming, maybe they will dedicate a song to you…..”The Tammy Fifty Something Song”…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked our adventure aboard the Black Raven during our June 2013 vacation in St. Augustine. My 3 year old son was not so sure about the prospect of meeting "real" pirates. After all, pirates are great for stories but actually coming face to face with one can be daunting when you're only 3 feet tall. Nevertheless, we headed down the dock and watched as the crew joked with the waiting passengers and posed for photos. My son warmed up easily and we boarded the ship, ready for an adventure. All I can say is FUN! The show was great (be sure to sit where you can hear if you really want to be a part of the action). The crew was warm and friendly and great at handling a boat full of kids. It was nice that there were seats in the shade and we could move around to get better views of the action and dolphin. My son spent a fair amount of time just gazing over the water since he had never really been on a large boat before. The action with Blackbeard was great fun and the "sword fight" (foam swords) was a big hit. The booty handed out to the kids at the end was a fun memento and we bought a tshirt which is worn often. Months later, my son is still recounting his pirate adventure to anyone who will listen. It was a highlight of his summer vacation!

3  Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackRaven5Star, Owner at Black Raven Pirate Ship, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Jennifer, we are delighted that you had a good time on the ship. Reading from your story and looking at your pictures, I can see that you took your son out on the treasure hunt trip. I guess that all his friends knows about his summer adventure by now. I will print your very nice and positive feed-back and hand it out to the crew. These types of stories are always very uplifting after a long hot day on the ship. Say “Hello” to your son from Blackbeard. Again, many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Raven Pirate Ship also viewed

 

Been to Black Raven Pirate Ship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing