We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boated in for lunch”
Review of Aunt Kate's

Aunt Kate's
Ranked #64 of 592 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Boated in for lunch”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Ten of us showed up for lunch after a speedy boat trip down from Beach Marine. Soups were great and the Margaritas were cold and sweet.
We can't wait to return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg1792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    322
    149
    73
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Horrible Excuse for a Manager!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

This place was awful! My friend and I both ordered the snowbird salad. The salads looked beautiful altho we later realized it was missing half the ingredients. One bite in and we both looked at each other... Dirt. We both had mouthfuls of dirt!! We called the waitress over and she quickly apologized & offered to remake the salads.

15 min later two new also beautiful salads came out. She assured us the manager "handled" the kitchen staff. We both eagerly took a bite and ... DIRT!!! As my friend dug around in her SECOND salad, she could see dirt in the bottom. Ar the bottom of the bowl was the "butt end" ; the end of the head. Inside it was black dirt. It looked as tho it had been pulled out of the garden and thrown in the bowl!

We called the waitress over AGAiN and showed her. She admitted it was dirt! She came back out with a messg from the manager who said he would give us 50 percent off. We said NO because it was inedible. She went in & talked to the manager again and came back out and said he said he wouldn't charge us for the salads.

We both felt sorry for the young waitress who was almost in tears by that point. The manager was a ball-less fool who didn't have the courage to come out & deal with this BIG error himself, but sent that girl out as his messenger.

Avoid this place. Who knows what else the are not washing!!

Helpful?
1 Thank JLHR1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Would you like dirt with that salad ma'am? ”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Like others stated picnic tables on a deck by the bay. We had a great waitress. When our salads came out we were excited it was freshly made. But as I ate, I noticed it was gritty. I tried to overrule it, but finally sent it back. The next one came with the butt of the lettuce leaves with the black soil embedded within. The waitress was apologetic. She went to tell the manager. He offered 50% off our meal. My girlfriend was firm (esp. since she barely ate.) She went back, but he never came out. She told us he took the salads off our bill. We let our waitress know we felt he should have come & not left the responsibility up to her(& she handled it well, but we felt sorry for her). We were unimpressed with that. Just thought you all may want to know. And as we left, I saw we were overcharged for the other items we ordered. Certainly unimpressed. Oh BTW food was OK otherwise. Grilled shrimp & fried green tomatoes.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tundrachoochoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Camping Feast”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Great local fare….small error with our order, easily fixed and we totally enjoyed our meal…stick to the basics…fried shrimp and blackened fish sandwich is always a good choice. Minorcian chowder has definitely improved…keep up the great work!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pabooboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great view, great service, good food”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I were here for her birthday earlier this month and we enjoyed the lunch there. The restaurant is located in Vilano Beach, across the intracoastal waterway bridge (A1A) northeast of St. Augustine, but not in the newly developed area of Vilano Beach by the Publix, but rather a mile or two north on A1A heading towards Ponte Vedra Beach. Look for a sign on the left as you head north and then you drive 1/4 mile or so down to the river.

We really enjoyed the view and the relaxed atmosphere on the outside deck as we dined. Inside they have great pictures of the restaurant, which has been there in different iterations for decades, showing the changes over time to the area.

The food was good and mostly local although my wife's fried green tomatoes looked commercially prepared (read: frozen) to me. They specialize in fish and seafood.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaxTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aunt Kate's also viewed

 

Been to Aunt Kate's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing