We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful and authentic”

Casa Maya Restaurant
Ranked #79 of 579 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cozy house-turned-restaurant dispatching upmarket Latin dishes inside or on its patio & terrace.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful and authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Best guacamole around, food is delicious and fresh. Family owned and operated, friendly service. Mole sauce is superb!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sharijaxbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    255
    97
    37
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We had the pakal shrimp and grouper. Both entrees were very yummy! I also had the white sangria and loved it, perfectly sweet. Chips and salsa was also good.

Helpful?
Thank SaraB14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Great service, very nice atmosphere and beautiful courtyard. Apocalypto sandwich delicious! Definetly recomend this place!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colombian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We ate here at the prompting of people we met at the Inn we were staying. We went there for lunch. Sebastian was our waiter, and though we were just one of maybe 4-5 tables (with another waiter) he seemed disinterested in bringing our drink refills or other things we asked for. He just wasn't in a hurry. The food tasted ok, but for the price and service I don't think I would go back; however my husband said he would definitely go back. He ordered fish tacos and said they were some of the best he's ever eaten.... so it's a mixed experience; that's why I was only able to give 3 stars.

Helpful?
Thank 2travelinFoolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ANTS in pancake syrup”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

I have been going to Casa Maya for over 5 years and always recommend family, friends, and strangers to eat there. I was very disappointed and embarrassed when I brought my friend and her two kids there for their first time and we find ANTS in everyones pancakes! We started off with the waitress getting the pancake orders wrong & not bringing out the correct amount of pancakes for the kids then we realized the ANTS were in the syrup. Unfortunately realizing this after pouring it on all three of the kids pancakes! The waitress was apologetic, reordered the pancakes only to give us half of what we ordered making us short on pancakes for the kids AGAIN. Then when I ask the female manager/owner,Carla, with curly hair to remove at least one of the three orders of the pancakes because of the disgusting ANT invasion she rudely refused. Needless to say I won't recommend anyone there nor will I eat there again. GOOD waiters and waitresses know to expedite a kids meal/order during any dining experience and any good owner should know to check the quality of their food prior to handing it to customers. Casa Maya's customer service was horrible because of Carla and I know it would've been completely different if the male owner was there, he is always very friendly and diligent. I am Very disappointed! I seem to always have a bad experience when she is there. She has a very bad attitude and should consider a different line of work.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Maya Restaurant also viewed

 
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to Casa Maya Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing