We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mexican breakfast !!”

Casa Maya Restaurant
Ranked #76 of 590 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Cozy house-turned-restaurant dispatching upmarket Latin dishes inside or on its patio & terrace.
georgia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great mexican breakfast !!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Was going to the Alligator Farm Zoo and so went to Trip Advisor to see if there were any good breakfast spots in St. Augustine. We traveled about an hour to get there. We arrived at around 8:30 to find a very quiet city.it cost a dollar to park in the lot next to the restaurant. We were so surprised that there was not a lot of people having breakfast, only a few people were there. We were greeted ASAP and asked weather we wanted to sit in the courtyard under the giant shade trees or inside or on the upstairs balcony overlooking the other restaurants and street below. We chose the balcony but after wished that we had chose the courtyard patio. Our server was sweet and helpful and service was swift. My trip to the restroom was pleasant. A very homey , super clean bathroom ! The food was so good. I had the huevos ranchero, a corn tortilla topped with vegetarian refied beans, a fried egg and cheese and had a choice of red or green salsa ; i chose the green and it was wonderful and fresh tasting. My hubby had the veggie omelet and it was good also, served with a side of refried beans and red salsa . I tasted his red and it was also good. We split an order of Sweet Potato pancakes, served with fresh strawberries and fresh whipped cream.... Those were so good ! Coffee was also good. We now want to come back for another visit under the big trees and try their dinner. I think this is a nice place .

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank melissarunsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    263
    100
    40
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ask for Guillermo”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is not a chain, don't treat it as such. This food is house made and the kitchen is small so be patient. I have never had a bad meal here and I have been coming since 2010 (before they moved). Sit back, drink a Modello, and enjoy yourself.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank belliceznoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great lunch in outside patio!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had a great lunch at Casa Maya. The family enjoyed and fresh and healthy meal in their patio. This charming restaurant offers a variety of all natural and vegetarian items without sacrificing flavor, their black beans are delicious and their vegetable burrito is very flavorful. The only negative was how slow the service was. Even though they were not busy it took them at least 10 minutes to acknowledge us after we were seated and over 20 minutes for us to get our order.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Msemaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere for dinner”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I came to Casa Maya on a recent Friday night for dinner with a very large party. We were celebrating a birthday, and there were a lot of us. We were seated on the back patio where we had several tables that we put together. It was a gorgeous night and the atmosphere was great. Loved the tree cover and the lights... great ambiance :)

We ordered the guacamole and chips to start... pretty good. Also ordered a pitcher of sangria, which was delicious. I had the Ixtaba Fish (grouper) and substituted rice for mixed greens. The sauce the fish came in was delicious, but there wasn't really a lot of it. I wished it came with a lot more. The portion was pretty small considering it was about $25 for the dish. The fish itself was somewhat bland - it could have used more spices. My fiance ordered the Carnitas, and he had the same feedback - it was somewhat bland. For a mexican restaurant, we expected a bit more flavor.

But the restaurant itself is very cute, and they had two guitar players / singers that serenaded us during dinner. Would suggest this place for a pre-date outing at night. Get drinks and the guac at Casa Maya to start, then go elsewhere for dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sophisticated Mexican Food”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The restaurant was full so we sat at the bar downstairs. Perfect. Guillermo was the very gracious and knowledgeable bartender. The maya soup yummy, the mahi- Mahi with Mango sauce was delicious and so were the carnitas. Everything was well seasoned without being spicy. They did provide a bottle of home made poblano /habinero sauce if you like to spice things up. too spicy...the sangria works well to cool the palate.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaSMarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Maya Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Casa Maya Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing