We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for breakfast or lunch”

Casa Maya Restaurant
Ranked #76 of 590 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Cozy house-turned-restaurant dispatching upmarket Latin dishes inside or on its patio & terrace.
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent for breakfast or lunch”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We love this cafe which has unusual breakfast and lunch offerings. Everything we've tried is excellent. The service is friendly and prompt. They have recently moved across the street from their old location.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bridget L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    263
    100
    40
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Kisco, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our favorite Saint Augustine Restaurant”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We visit St. Augustine at 3 to 5 times a year. My husband and I go to Casa Maya at the minimum 3 times during a week's stay. The breakfast is amazing. The apocolypto sandwich and the poblano eggs are usually what we order, with a side of quacomole, it is so good that we don't care it is breakfast. Everything is so fresh. They just opened up their new location across the street which is very large so there won't be as much trouble getting a table anymore. They just started serving dinner and it was another great meal. I had a wrap filled with steak for lunch one day and it was the best wrap I have ever had, no joke. The family who owns Casa Maya are very involved at the restaurant and pleasant. If you have a special request they always try to please you. We always recommend Casa Maya when people ask where to eat. Keep in mind this is not a Mexican restaurant (which is a common misconception) which is why we love it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TannerBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fresh & flavorful”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Shreded pork 'mayan'.. subtle tastes that exploded with flavor. Fantastic guacamole with fresh everything
Attentive service. We only had lunch, wish we had time for dinner.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank john_D32952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
673 reviews
409 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Mmm mmmm good...No, mmm, mmm GREAT!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I love Spanish, Mexican, Central American Carribbean, etc foods. Our hosts at Carriage Way B&B said this was their favorite restaurant, so we had to try it...and it was terrific! One of us had fish, one had pork, one had chicken..and they were
all amazing. If you like hot sauce, ask for their special habanero sauce...it is really, really good (and hot!). The Sangria was just so-so...go for a beer if you are thirsty!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CapeSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“funtraveler”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We loved the Mayan soup and the white wine sangria, however the atmosphere was noisy and we were seated by the kitchen door in very uncomfortable plastic chairs. We decided to move outdoors, which was more comfortable and less noisy. We ordered the special, which was a grouper in coconut curry sauce. My friend, with only a few bites left bit down on what he thought was a fishbone, but turned out to be a piece of hard clear plastic. We were grateful that a tooth was not cracked. After informing management, the best they could do was a 10% discount. It felt as though they did not believe us. We won't be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gilda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Maya Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Casa Maya Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing