We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many other choices for Mex that are better”
Review of La Nopalera

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Nopalera
Ranked #411 of 593 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Corrales, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Many other choices for Mex that are better”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

I've been to several of the "La Nops" in town over the years. Nothing to write home about.

This particular one, as noted before by others, is LOUD beyond reason. Will not be going back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    5
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Decent Mexican; huge portions”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We used to LOVE La Napolera, but the prices have gone up and the quality and service have gone down some in recent years. It is still good overall, and the portions are enormous. The place could use a good deep cleaning and some updates, but oh well. One last note; it is very loud in there, so do not expect a peaceful, quiet dinner atmosphere there.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DHancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoschton, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“BIG PORTIONS”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Pretty good Mexican fare, and you get plenty to eat. The chips and salsa are fresh and nice and spicy. Very tasty margaritas can top it off just right. Like others have said, it can get quite noisy at times.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiker1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
544 reviews
440 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is one of the better Mexican food places around this area of Florida. We go here quite often. The food and service are generally pretty good. If you are into less noisy places, don't go here during busy times as the noise is intense. As some other commenters have stated, wish they would use more authentic cheeses as the white American cheese really doesn't do it for me either. Other than that, their sauces are good, and the food is served quickly and is hot. Until something better comes along, this will give us our Mexican food fix.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HoopFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“American Cheese”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We all enjoy Colby and Monterey Jack, I wish is was not White American Cheese to pass as Queso Blanca. I would pay many $$ more not to have American Cheese for south of the border cuisine.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BachelorNumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Nopalera also viewed

 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to La Nopalera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing