We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than alligators to see here”

St. Augustine Alligator Farm Zoological Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“More than alligators to see here”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were informed by a friend about visiting the alligator 'farm' and are so glad we went. There is a large feeding area right inside that must have had 30 alligators waiting for their feeding which we watched (frozen dead rats). From there you can see a wide variety of other alligators from around the world, but I think the hidden gem is the nesting area for local birds, which when we went was filled with baby birds. Apparently because of the alligators, there are no other predators for birds so they all flock there to build nests and raise their young. We spent probably 4 hours there and enjoyed it very much.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,978 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,931
    829
    163
    36
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LEESBURG
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great for families”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

After passing this attraction several times on previous trips, I decided to check it out. I wasn't expecting much, but we were really amazed. The rookery was so cool with all the nesting birds and hatchlings. We didn't do the zip line but it appears to be pretty cool.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank walrus99Leesburg_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lots of fun!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I love the Alligator Farm. It's more than just alligators. They have plenty of monkeys and birds too! And of course turtles, tortoises, croccodiles, and snakes. This is another nice place to just spend the day and relax, walking around looking at everything. There are shows, which I would recommend, as well as the feedings. The food here is ok. About what you would expect.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm coast, FL
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you're visiting Florida from up north, you gotta go!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

If you've seen one alligator, you've seen them all....NOT! This place is better than a zoo, and is very clean. Beside all shapes and sizes, you'll see alligator demonstrations, feeding, etc. Great bird sanctuary in the spring with great photo ops.

Helpful?
Thank ldhager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vine Grove, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I was hesitant to go to the Alligator farm because from the road it doesn't look very big. We took the chance and decided to go. Once we got inside, we realized it was an outdoor facility with MANY exhibits! There was so much to see. My husband and kids (aged 3 & 1) loved it. We plan to go again when we visit St. Augustine. I love how it was set up. It was very family friendly.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kjdiddles06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Augustine Alligator Farm Zoological Park also viewed

 

Been to St. Augustine Alligator Farm Zoological Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing