We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“21st Anniversary at the Charlotte Cottage”
Review of Bayfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bayfront Inn
Ranked #12 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014

First time trying Bayfront Inn. Stayed at the Charlotte Cottage (off property). It was quaint and off the main streets. It is free standing and 2 floors. Kitchen and main floor has tile. Upstairs bedroom has wood floors, a double bed and the toilet/shower. It has a private courtyard with an outside fireplace and table/chairs. The kitchen has microwave/full side fridge/dishes/utensils and bar. The downstairs has a 32" TV and the upstairs has a 28-30 inch. Both have cable boxes but not HD channels. They have some DVD's to use but no DVD player. The downstairs TV does have an accessible HDMI connection. Previous reviews indicated bug issues. We saw a few ants (coming out of light switches and power outlets and windows) but nothing big. They got worse on the second day so it appears that the cottage does not get professional pest control treatments. The overall smell was fine, slightly old-home mixed with new wood. Heat worked well (it was actually cold that weekend). The really BIG drawback was the attached residential house located on the same property (owners of hotel?) had 2 Dalmatians that, although friendly when you say hi, one of them (the male) will continually bark at you as long as you’re in sight. They are taken in at night. This totally makes using the courtyard impossible to enjoy during the day. Very unprofessional. The parking is very bad during work days as the road has one side parking and the Dept of Military Affairs employees use them up. At night it's empty. The staff at the Hotel, Dee, was very helpful and nice. I informed her of the few issues with the cottage and she said she would follow up with the owner. Past reviews did indicate that the manager does read these reviews and does take action if possible.
Rated Cleanliness as poor due to the bugs. Otherwise very good.
Rated Location as Average due to dogs. Otherwise excellent.

Room Tip: Cottage is good for a couple. Not anymore. Only one bathroom which is in upstairs bedroom. Bring woo...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
There are newer reviews for Bayfront Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 642 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

As we approached the hotel we saw HE
BAY RO
N
on the wall of the property and AYFRONT INN on the entrance sign. Made us a bit leary, but we were nicely welcomed at check in and given a parking pass for our car as only one space per car is provided. Our room was on the second floor and there are no elevators. The room was good with a nice view, however we had to leave the door propped open for several hours to air out the room because the room deoderizer was overwhelmingly, sickly sweet. They do not furnish a mini fridge and the ice machine that services the 33 rooms and 3 suites was empty both nights by 9 p.m. The entire place needs some TLC. They serve a continental breakfast which was quite good. They hotel is at the south end of the historic district so within walking distance of most attractions.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle section of the "U" directly face the bay. There are no elevators.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FLORIDAYS711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

I wasn't so sure about the bayfront inn. When we pulled up it was missing letters in the sign, but that was the only con. The staff was helpful, the room was huge, the view of the bay was awesome, and it was in walking distance to everything and we walked everywhere! When we come back to St. Augustine we will stay here!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lmjones0618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. Room was spacious and beds were comfortable. Breakfast was included both mornings. The front desk was very nice and helpful. The view from our room was the Matanza Bay which is a spectacular view. They also have a small gazebo to enjoy the sunset or just sit and watch the boats go by. The only issues I had were that the bathroom walls had mold on them. I let staff know and they tried to clean it up. I think they need better/stronger cleanser as much of it was still there after they tried removing it. I know they did try as my husband went back to the room later that day and saw housekeeping cleaning. Also, they need to vacuum and check behind furniture. Found 2 receipts one dating back from September and another from November. Overall, hotel is nice. Price for the area is good especially during this time of the year. Not a chain hotel this may be a family run inn.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MERCY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Again, we stayed at this nice waterfront hotel. Everything is always an just great. We stay here at least once a year for one of the holidays. Excellent view and close to everything. Can walk to all attractions.

Room Tip: The suites are a little larger
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 258Russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This hotel is located right across from St. Augustine Bay. Beautiful view and close to downtown. The hotel has very reasonable rates for the quality of the room and its location. I've stayed at the Hilton nearby and paid three times as much. Although the Hilton is nice, I liked the smaller Bayfront Inn better. Very clean and the staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a better view of the bay from their balcony.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank palemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I had a hard time deciding what rating to give this place, but finally decided to rate it based on my experience more than overall impressions. It might be just fine for you.

PROS: Clean, great location where you can park (free) and walk all over town. Price is very good for the location it's in.

CONS: Small rooms. Thin walls - I heard the woman next door wake her husband up from a nightmare thin. The thermostat seems to have a mind of its own. Go to bed with it set at 71 and in in the middle of the night you wake up throwing off covers when it turns up to 76. Breakfast, although partly fresh cooked was mediocre at best.

The biggest issue for me is something that wouldn't be a problem for everyone, but the room reeked with a perfume smell when we walked in and it set off a bad allergy attack. I asked them not to use the perfume after that and it took about 3 days for the smell to go away. But this is the worst part: when I asked the desk clerk to alert housekeeping, she said "Yeah, some people have trouble with that." I'm thinking if even SOME of your guests have trouble with it, why do you keep using it?

Room Tip: Room 117 is right next to the kitchen - got woken up very early one morning hearing the sound of som...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bmalloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.6 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#6 of 78 in St. Augustine
927 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Inn

Address: 138 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084-5048
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: $124 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayfront Inn's waterfront location, on Matanzas Bay, is in the heart of St. Augustine's oldest historic district dating back to 1572. Walk to historic sites, restaurants, shops or sit by our pool for a relaxing day. Enjoy bay breezes and watch horse carriages stroll by while sitting on the porch or gazebo. Accommodations at the Bayfront Inn are newly renovated and feature a light pleasing décor. For your convenience, we provide 1 parking space per room on-site at the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Bayfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing