We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Bayfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bayfront Inn
Ranked #12 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This hotel is located right across from St. Augustine Bay. Beautiful view and close to downtown. The hotel has very reasonable rates for the quality of the room and its location. I've stayed at the Hilton nearby and paid three times as much. Although the Hilton is nice, I liked the smaller Bayfront Inn better. Very clean and the staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a better view of the bay from their balcony.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank palemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
There are newer reviews for Bayfront Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 642 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

I had a hard time deciding what rating to give this place, but finally decided to rate it based on my experience more than overall impressions. It might be just fine for you.

PROS: Clean, great location where you can park (free) and walk all over town. Price is very good for the location it's in.

CONS: Small rooms. Thin walls - I heard the woman next door wake her husband up from a nightmare thin. The thermostat seems to have a mind of its own. Go to bed with it set at 71 and in in the middle of the night you wake up throwing off covers when it turns up to 76. Breakfast, although partly fresh cooked was mediocre at best.

The biggest issue for me is something that wouldn't be a problem for everyone, but the room reeked with a perfume smell when we walked in and it set off a bad allergy attack. I asked them not to use the perfume after that and it took about 3 days for the smell to go away. But this is the worst part: when I asked the desk clerk to alert housekeeping, she said "Yeah, some people have trouble with that." I'm thinking if even SOME of your guests have trouble with it, why do you keep using it?

Room Tip: Room 117 is right next to the kitchen - got woken up very early one morning hearing the sound of som...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bmalloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Comfortable room, great location, quiet, and clean. I will stay here again, beds are comfy and baths are spacious. I would easily give this 4 stars based on comfort, linens and function. Outside is dated but it's old and that's why we are here, for the unqiue city that St. Augustine is..

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDLand352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Comfortable room, great location, quiet, and clean. I will stay here again, beds are comfy and baths are spacious. I would easily give this 4 stars based on comfort, linens and function. Outside is dated but it's old and that's why we are here, for the unqiue city that St. Augustine is..

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDLand352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This may be an older hotel, but it's clean and really convenient to everything in the historic area of St, Augustine and it's right on the bay. The staff was great and I loved having coffee available when I needed it! They serve breakfast every morning to get you started. For me, it's a great deal for the price because we just park the car on arrival and can walk everywhere we want to go. Shopping, bistros, restaurants, etc. all within a few blocks. This was our second stay and we'll be back!

Room Tip: We've stayed twice and wifi reception seems to be better on the second floor.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cyndie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We have travelled extensively in the States over the years and this is our worst experience with front desk staff..No good morning,no how are you doing ,no have a nice day .Nothing,just an unsmiling face looking at a computer screen.
We won't be back,we'll go where we're made welcome.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BenCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia W, Manager at Bayfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for your comments and the guest comment card you left at the hotel. We are in the process of replacing this staff person. She did not meet our customer service standards or yours. I would hope you would reconsider staying at our property in the future. This staff person does not represent how we believe guests should be treated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This motel is really central in the Oldtown of St. Augustine, right on the waterfront. The rooms are well decorated and equipped with a fridge. The staff were helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The Trolley Bus stops right outside the hotel. There is a restaurant next door which serves a super breakfast. There is also a pool.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.6 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#6 of 78 in St. Augustine
927 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Inn

Address: 138 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084-5048
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: $124 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayfront Inn's waterfront location, on Matanzas Bay, is in the heart of St. Augustine's oldest historic district dating back to 1572. Walk to historic sites, restaurants, shops or sit by our pool for a relaxing day. Enjoy bay breezes and watch horse carriages stroll by while sitting on the porch or gazebo. Accommodations at the Bayfront Inn are newly renovated and feature a light pleasing décor. For your convenience, we provide 1 parking space per room on-site at the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Bayfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing