We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.....OK accomodations”
Review of Bayfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bayfront Inn
Ranked #12 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Cons: the room smelled kind of musty and the bed wasn't comfortable
Pro: the location was perfect, the staff was friendly and they had a complimentary breakfast.

The hotel was directly accross the street from the harbor and within walking distance of everything, including the fort.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
There are newer reviews for Bayfront Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 642 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed for one night and were allocated a first floor corner room over looking the bay. The room was clean and comfortable with one large bed. Free Wi-Fi and breakfast was included in what we would rate as a budget price. The location is great for visiting St George Street and Fort and it was nice to be able to park the car in the hotel car park and walk and enjoy what is a lovely location. Nothing to fault in terms of the hotel, the receptionist was really helpful in pointing out places to visit and dine. Would we stay again 'yes' based on value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walshy1160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I picked this hotel because of the great reviews but when I arrived the sink in my room had old rusty pipe pieces in the bowl as if the sink was snaked out. The front desk reception told me that she was the only one staffed and that she can move me to a handicapped room or if I felt like waiting she can find another room. She wasn't completely pleasant and seemed annoyed at the whole situation instead of apologetic and hospitable. The morning staff members were very nice. The a/c wasn't turned on and the room had a musty smell. Once turned on, it was better but the air in the room remained funky. The bed was comfortable. Shower pressure was terrible! Room small but fine for one or two people. The room was clean and tidy. Towels were clean but worn. Shampoo but no conditioner but the water pressure was so poor I didn't even want to wash my hair. Cleaning staff replenished soap and shower caps everyday and cleaned the room well. Location great! Noisy neighbors in the early evening and no-one reprimanded them but fortunately they quieted up later. Breakfast was simple but acceptable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancytheot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here Sept. 30 for just one night but it sure won't be our last visit. We didn't have time to stay longer, otherwise we certainly would have, we liked it that much. You probably can't get a better value. Our room was pleasant and spotless(!) with a beautiful comfy bed & pillows, nice big TV, coffee maker, hair dryer, and safety bar in tub/shower although it was not a "handicapped" room. The manager said they would eventually be putting in a small refrigerator. We could sit outside our room (second floor) on the communal balcony and look at the Bridge of Lions, Matanzas Bay & a pirate ship. Although they are repaving the road in front, it should be done soon & there were no problems with any odors once they stopped for the day. We parked our car for free (something not always available in St. Augustine) and walked into town and St. George Street for sightseeing and eating. Breakfast is included and while simple, was very tasty. We had sausage with cinnamon french toast and there was yogurt, other breads for toasting and cereals along with coffee, tea, milk and orange juice. Staff were very pleasant and accommodating and part of the hotel is 300 years old (which we stayed in). There is an historic plaque noting it downstairs. We're looking forward to staying longer on our next visit as not only was it a great value, in the evening it was quiet and not as noisy as when we stayed before at a hotel near St. George St.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms in the "historic" section have a nice view of the bay and Bridge of Lio...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at the Bayfront Inn Sept 7 this year. This is a very nice, clean hotel. It is right downtown St. Augustine on the bayfront, within walking distance of a lot of the downtown shops & restaurants. The room was very comfortable. We would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Always check the bed bug registry (bedbugregistry.com) prior to booking a hotel
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J-K-B10_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Very pleasant, eager to please staff. Have stayed at other locations in area but this was our favorite. No need to get back in car and drive - just park and take an easy stroll to fun shopping and good restaurants. No parking hassles, Will stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Agandbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at the Bayfront Inn for two nights in early September. The staff was friendly and helpful, the hotel and grounds well maintained and the location can't be beat. It was a pleasure to be able to walk to everything we wanted to visit - no hassle of parking! We slept very well - didn't hear any noise from the outside. Beds were great. We had a 2nd floor room and the view of the bay was lovely. It was large and had 2 queen beds. Very nice bathroom. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have the best view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ncpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.6 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#6 of 78 in St. Augustine
927 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Inn

Address: 138 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084-5048
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: $124 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayfront Inn's waterfront location, on Matanzas Bay, is in the heart of St. Augustine's oldest historic district dating back to 1572. Walk to historic sites, restaurants, shops or sit by our pool for a relaxing day. Enjoy bay breezes and watch horse carriages stroll by while sitting on the porch or gazebo. Accommodations at the Bayfront Inn are newly renovated and feature a light pleasing décor. For your convenience, we provide 1 parking space per room on-site at the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Bayfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing