We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Therapy”
Review of Inn On Charlotte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn On Charlotte
Ranked #4 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Better than Therapy”
Reviewed February 13, 2010

Quiet, friendly, so much to do if you want, great history lesson,wonderful places to eat and enjoy........walk around the city if able.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NGGay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    52
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
47
830
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2010

The Inn on Charlotte is the perfect location to walk all of St. Augustine's sights. We stayed in the upstairs room in the coach house. The only 2 things I would comment on , the bed was very comfortable but noisy...definetily not for honeymooners!! and more choice at breakfast . There is happy hour at 4pm with fresh baked cookies,an appetizer,nuts,and wine. The table setting for breakfast was beautiful.
I would recommend this B&B if you want to be close to all there is to do in St. Augustine

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yelnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Elegant charm yet you feel at home, the minute you walk in you are in a place with style and history. We could not have picked a better place to stay location location park your car and let your feet do the rest!!!! The exceptional service was one that could not be beat, with breakfast everymorning that would make your mouth water just by looking at it and the smell of some real good cooking in the kitchen!!!!

If you are looking for romance this is the place love at first site!!! This is our new getaway for years to come we will be back!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveljunkie028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2010

I can not tell you what a superb stay we had at the Inn on Charlotte. My husband and I checked in and fell in love with the inn. It was so homey and quite. Great front porch for people watching. We met another couple at happy hour and sat on the porch so long we forgot our dinner reservations (LOL)
Lynne was so kind as to set out a little extra wine for us when I asked and was only around when you needed her to be.

Our room was so quite and the sheets! I can not tell you how amazed I was with the quality of the linens in her rooms. We didn’t want to leave the bed in the morning, but the smell of fresh coffee and the spinach soufflé lifted us to our feet.

Location was perfect, steps from all the great bars and restaurants. We can not wait to go back again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatesBestGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2010

This b&b is elegant but provides comfortable accommodations and friendly service! The bed was more comfortable than mine at home; and the updated bathrooms and luxury towels and linens were a treat! Although I did not have the opportunity to have breakfast here, I did enjoy the generous and tasty evening nibbles and wine.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trisunsbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

We stayed two nights in the Marjorie K Rawlings room, and it was wonderful! The inn is located in a perfect spot for touring the old city. We parked our car when we arrived and didn't see it again until we left! This was our fourth trip to St. Augustine, and by far the most pleasant. The main house of the inn is beautiful, and Lynne is a very welcoming hostess. Breakfast was great!! We can't wait to go back and visit St. Augustine again, becasue now we have found our home away from home!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missymae1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodboro Maryland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

The Inn on Charlotte is quite simply, one of the best!

My Bride and I wanted to find a place in St. Augustine to have a simple yet elegant Wedding. We noticed the "Wedding package" available from the Inn on Charlotte and we could have not been more pleased with this selection. Lynn and Rae Ann make this place work!

When we arrived early on the Sunday, we were allowed to leave some of our bags and park in the back, we were told that the room would be ready in about an hour. We left our car there and went about, hoping on the trolley and getting a general view of the city. we ended up eating at the Columbia, which is okay, but certainly not the best place in St Augustine to eat, as it is very much like the "Chain" restaurant that it is. When we were done eating, we were able to walk back to the Inn, only 3 short blocks away, and join a group of strangers at the inn for happy hour! Total fun! My Wife and I love meeting the folks from all around the Country and, indeed, the world. We had a couple from England, another couple from Lebanon / Kentucky, folks from Alabama, Michigan and Florida. We all sat around the parlor and enjoyed some wine and company. We were able to compare dinning notes and get recommendations. Before we knew it, it was off to dinner. After dinner, most of the guests were able to sit in the parlor and enjoy some nice port wine, while solving all the worlds problems and comparing notes about the meals we had all just enjoyed. Everyone went to bed plump and happy!

The Inn is Beautiful and wonderfully appointed. It is Victorian and decorated as such. Lynn is a classically trained gourmet chef, and it shows. The breakfast's are simply amazing! Our first morning was an Egg soufflé, served on a perfectly cooked bed of potato hash browns. There was also a dish of fresh berries served in some kind of sauce, perhaps a Chambord or Grand Mariner reduction. I wasn't sure what the sauce was, but I was sure the berries were delicious! One of the other couples was celebrating their 10 year anniversary, so we all shared in Mimosa's. The next two breakfast did not disappoint either. Lynn is an Angel in the kitchen!

If you don't read any other reviews, Brenda and I would like recommend, as places to eat, the Collage, Opus and the Tasting room. Neither of them are cheep. But, if you want a "Food network" top of the heap dinning experience, these restaurants are for you! There are probably other great restaurants in St. Augustine. These three we had very positive experiences with. I will write reviews for them, as well.

Our last full day was to be our wedding. Brenda and I only wanted something simple, yet elegant. Lynn had arranged for our officiate to help us with the Vows, there was a nice, beautiful, yet simple Cake and Champagne. Some of the other guests showed up as "witnesses" which was very nice. Rae, the officiate, provided us with a real nice "Sand" ceremony, and a beautifully hand written, in calligraphy, certificate. We could NOT have asked for anything more perfect. So often, weddings are a stress on the Bride and Groom. This time, the stress was all but taken away by Lynn, Rae Ann, and Rae Ann's Mom (the officiate).

In summary, obviously, We thought that the Inn on Charlotte was world class all the way. When in St. Augustine, there is no need to search for any other place to stay, at the Inn on Charlotte, you have found it!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck9115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.2 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 78 in St. Augustine
908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 31 in St. Augustine
900 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#10 of 31 in St. Augustine
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
44 Spanish Street Inn
44 Spanish Street Inn
#8 of 31 in St. Augustine
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Charlotte

Property: Inn On Charlotte
Address: 52 Charlotte St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3647
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**Summer's Low Rates are in effect** **No minimum-nights in the month of June** One of Saint Augustine's 'Adults Only' Inns that ranks in the Top 5 because of, clean rooms, our great breakfasts, and the Inn's super location. It was built in 1918 so she is an elegant Edwardian bed and breakfast in the heart of the nation's oldest city. We are just steps from the bay front on a brick-lined street. The home has been lovingly restored to reflect its original grandeur and is carefully decorated with antique furnishings and accessories. As a bed and breakfast since 1993, the Inn on Charlotte has become known for its Southern hospitality which, of course, means relaxation and comfort for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn On Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Charlotte Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing