We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but screaming kid ruined trip”
Review of Inn On Charlotte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn On Charlotte
Ranked #3 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We loved this place. Second time here but a couple brought their 18 month old and he screamed the whole time he was there. He screamed thru breakfast and parents never said a word. This was to be a romantic getaway for us. Will look for a B&B that is adult only for next trip. We also had to share a balcony with the people in the next room. There were some plants between us and them but we could see and talk to them. The guy in the next room started talking to us as soon as we came out to the balcony. Not very romantic.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8662cardio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

We are an 'Adults Only' B&B - and we were as shocked as you were that morning, at the start of breakfast, when we were told an extra guest with us. But we are heart-broken the 'little one' ruined your special get away, and thank you for this review to allow us to fix the situation. You see this was a 'first' for us but now, after your review, we have created a procedure to handle this in the future. So thank you, again. And we hope you will reconsider staying at the normally romantic Inn on Charlotte the next time you come to town, but we understand if you don't. Always, travel safe.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny and Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent 1 night at the Inn on Charlotte as a get away weekend and to see the Christmas lights. The Inn is beautiful and the Innkeepers made us feel like family. The breakfast was outstanding, the location is perfect and you are within walking distance of everything. We have stayed at other B&B's in the area and this was by far the best. We will be back in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

One night is never enough for St Augustine, but as regular visitors you know that. This review means a lot to us, thank you for it. And it covers about everything a traveler needs to know about the Inn on Charlotte. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were so impressed with our choice of B&B. It was just wonderful! Everything, from the room, food, innkeepers was "superb." We felt at home. We certainly enjoyed meeting the other couples staying at the Inn as well. Everyone was so friendly. We were very impressed all of the couples that made their reservations for the next time a year in advance. If that doesn't tell you how good of a B&B that is, nothing does. The breakfasts we had both days were scrumptious! I think Rod needs to get himself a cookbook of all of his meals and have them available for purchase. We know we would definitely buy one next time we visit. We already have told a lot of our friends that Inn on Charlotte cannot be in a better location - so close to just about everything. We parked our car and didn't get into again until we left. Thanks so much for all you do. See you next time around! JoAnn & Bill B

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joannb97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

What a great review, thank you. And we would have to agree to you, Inn on Charlotte guests are some of the best in the industry. Rod will be happy to hear you enjoyed his cooking. Travel safe and and come back to see us.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny, & Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband and I picked the Inn on Charlotte for the first three days of our honeymoon, and we enjoyed it thoroughly! The staff are wonderful, and the Inn itself is just gorgeous, and close to everywhere we wanted to be. I don't think I've had a more delicious breakfast anywhere else. The jacuzzi was a definite plus, as well. We also enjoyed sitting on the balcony upstairs and drinking some wine while watching other people pass by. The innkeepers are very friendly and attend to every detail; everything was just a lovely experience. I left a shirt by accident in the room the morning of our checkout, and the innkeeper ran after our car as we were driving slowly toward Avenida Menendez to return it to me! We loved staying here and would love to come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Congratulations! You make a lovely couple, and we enjoyed your company over the holidays. Thank you, for the great review and for choosing the Inn on Charlotte for this special occasion. It's not everyday that we chase down cars to return items, but for you guys, it was well worth it. We hope to see you both back here time-and-time-again, on your many anniversaries.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry (car chaser)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Loved our stay at the Inn On Charlotte, Innkeepers were super friendly and made us feel very welcome. I found this to be the perfect location for seeing the sights in St. Augustine you are close to restaurants, bars and local attractions. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mew4268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you! And a Happy New Year to you as well. And thank you for taking the time to write this good review. It was a pleasure meeting you both, you made the holiday special. See you back at the Inn on Charlotte soon.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

A charming and beautifully appointed b&b. Felt like I was a guest in someone's home. Breakfast was delicious. Especially loved sitting on the balcony in the evening and watching the people pass by. Would love a return visit.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank cruxx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Great idea, and we can't wait to see you back at the Inn on Charlotte. Thank you for the review and we'll see you again, soon.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We have stayed in St Augustine every year during the Christmas Season….for the lights. This was one of the best B&Bs we've stayed at. Breakfast was wonderful, rooms very nice and the staff super friendly. It's located right in the heart of everything. You can walk everywhere.

Make sure you get the rooms that have parking spots on location. Streets are very narrow and parking limited. Small car is recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street have a huge balcony, but are a little noisier. If want quiet, pick the rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lathamkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

It was a pleasure meeting y'all and, we love your tradition of coming and seeing the light each year - they really are beautiful, right? And as returning visitors to St Augustine, your review means even more to us, and we appreciate it. Thank you. Your tips are great too; we could not say it any better ourselves. We look forward to seeing you next year at the Nights of Lights and at the Inn on Charlotte.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny and Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.2 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
44 Spanish Street Inn
44 Spanish Street Inn
#5 of 31 in St. Augustine
526 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
The Kenwood Inn
The Kenwood Inn
#7 of 31 in St. Augustine
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Charlotte

Address: 52 Charlotte St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3647
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range: $185 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 'Adults Only' Inn that ranks in the Top 5 because of our, clean rooms, great breakfasts, and the Inn's super location. It was built in 1918 so she is an elegant Edwardian bed and breakfast in the heart of the nation's oldest city. We are just steps from the bay front on a brick-lined street. The home has been lovingly restored to reflect its original grandeur and is carefully decorated with antique furnishings and accessories. As a bed and breakfast since 1993, the Inn on Charlotte has become known for its Southern hospitality which, of course, means relaxation and comfort for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn On Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Charlotte Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing