We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend at fabulous Inn On Charlotte!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn On Charlotte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn On Charlotte
Ranked #4 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
1 review
“Great weekend at fabulous Inn On Charlotte!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Thanks so much to Rod, Jerry and the rest of the staff for a great stress free birthday weekend! We stayed in the Haven room which is perfect if you like to sit out on the nice second floor porch and watch the coming and goings like we did. The meals were out of this world and the owners were so considerate to assist us and other guests in getting free tickets to the museum and offering suggestions on things to do. A very special thanks to Rod for finding my husbands well-lived in shoes that were left behind. They did make it home. We will definitely be back and suggest this home away from home for anyone looking for a B&B in St. Augustine that is close to everything. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Well it was a joy meeting you both, we are so happy you had a great birthday weekend. Jerry will be happy you mentioned him, its happens so seldom.. Come back and see us during the Night of Lights this holiday season. Like we said, they are worth the journey back.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny and a happy Jerry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    50
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
44
809
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I spent our 27th wedding anniversary here and could not have picked a better B&B in St.Augustine. The staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. Room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful. The Inn itself is gorgeous. Inn keepers always spoke to everyone as they were family. The Inn is located in a perfect location. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdlomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
It was great meeting you guys, and since we are in our 27th year, we will remember you. And we look forward to seeing you next year, for your 28th, at the Inn on Charlotte.Thank you, for the review.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We broke our journey in St Augustine for one night at the Inn on Charlotte but the town has so much to offer that we should have stayed longer. Therein is located one block back from the waterfront, five minutes walk from the historic Castillo San Marco and in the heart of the historic district. Our hosts were welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was wonderful, the room comfortable - we had the Audubon Room which has a great bathroom - and the premises were spotless. The common areas were comfortable and there is a lovely porch for sitting out in the late afternoon. We enjoyed it immensely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djhdcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
It was a joy meeting you both, as short as it was. And your right, St Augustine takes many visits to begin to understand the old city. We thank you for your review and look forward to seeing back again, at the Inn on Charlotte.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny, & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Everything was perfect. Great location, well appointed room, lovely common areas, charming front porch, attentive staff, & a delicious breakfast. B&B heaven. Book now, these rooms go fast.....................

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWizard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
That's a Perfect Pitch, and great advise. We could not say it better ourselves, thank you.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Had a good stay, the inn is centrally located. The happy hour was a good idea before walking to dinner, generous pours of wine:) Staff was very attentive and gave a couple of suggestions for dinner and even made reservations for us. We stayed in the auddobon room, the bathroom was really nice. The only thing was the room was a bit cold for summertime. Breakfast was delicious! Coffee is also available before breakfast, but it wasn't that good it was a little weak for coffee connoisseurs. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sta30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you, for the wonderful review. We hope you will return to the Inn on Charlotte soon. We are sorry you were uncomfortable. The thermostat in the hall is not locked, but we ask guests to be considerate to others at the inn when changing it. Sounds like they were not so considerate.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny, and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This Inn is in the perfect location. If you get tired or just want a break, it is so close to everything you can just walk back (or take a train ride), rest up and go back out. The train stops just a block or 2 away. Plenty of places to eat, and if you want a recommendation, just ask them. One of the best places is Harry's (seafood). Don't miss it. The breakfasts were great. So much food, couldn't eat lunch, (my husband did have a light lunch). They were not just huge, they were delicious. The inn itself is beautiful, they keep everything clean and are always working on stuff. If you have a special request, they are happy to work something out, whether it's food related, or room related. We met another couple while we were there during the 'social' hour (complimentary wine or beer) and that made the experience even nicer. We were in the cottage in the back, 1st floor, which was private and very quiet. I liked that, as I am a light sleeper, and the only sound was the waterfall going outside, which gave the illusion of rain on the roof..very soothing. We had a separate entrance, which was nice. The innkeepers spoke to us every time we saw them, as they did the other guests, felt like family, not just anonymous guests. I highly recommend this B&B. The parking was not bad, we rented a small vehicle, but most of the other guests had SUV's and seemed like plenty of room. We never drove while we were there, though. No need to do so. Just a note, this is a B&B. They are designed to be 'bedrooms', not fullsize hotel rooms, so I knew what to expect. The armoire had a lot of room for our clothes. Our cottage was perfect size; we didn't spend a lot of time there, though. We had wine in the main house, or sat on the front porch, or were out and about. I would only stay here, and would probably stay in the cottage again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 54beachlady54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Oh wow - thank you for the extensive review. And you're right, each of our rooms are a different size. Like most in St Augustine, some are just small. We try to convey the size of each room through pictures and descriptions as best we can. So we appreciate you explaining the other amenities of the Inn on Charlotte. We will see you next time.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny, & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

One of the best experiences I have had staying in a B&B. Room was everything it was advertised to be and more. Food and presentation was fantastic. Rod and Jerry the owners made us feel at home and I really enjoyed our chats, made us feel more like family than guests. Loved the front porch in the evenings

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steviek223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Congratulations - what a great way to begin your life together. We are pleased you chose the Inn on Charlotte for your special day. While we loved pampering you, not all bed and breakfasts can. So keep going to b&bs, and as long as you go together it will always be an adventure, good or bad. But in any case, we look forward to seeing you back each year for your anniversary.

Yours, Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.2 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#10 of 31 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#12 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Charlotte

Property: Inn On Charlotte
Address: 52 Charlotte St, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
!! Summer Rates In Effect!! A Saint Augustine Adults Only Inn and ranked in the Top 5 because of our breakfasts and the Inn's great location. It was built in 1918 so she is an elegant Edwardian bed and breakfast in the heart of the nation's oldest city. We are just steps from the bay front on a brick-lined street. The home has been lovingly restored to reflect its original grandeur and is carefully decorated with antique furnishings and accessories. As a bed and breakfast since 1993, the Inn on Charlotte has become known for its Southern hospitality which, of course, means relaxation and comfort for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn On Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Charlotte Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing