We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time on Charlotte Street!”
Review of Inn On Charlotte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn On Charlotte
Ranked #4 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Indialantic, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Time on Charlotte Street!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

It was my birthday weekend and we hadn't been to St. Augustine in about 4 years. We've stayed at the Inn on Charlotte in the past so we decided to return to there. We had really enjoyed the previous Innkeeper, Vanessa on our other visits and were delighted to find that Rodney is a wonderful host and Innkeeper....and person!!
The rooms are all updated and immaculate and beautifully decorated. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud...our room upstairs had a wonderful deck overlooking the street and old city.
The breakfast Rodney cooked us in the morning was fabulous, and his assistant Jinny is a doll.
We just can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our time there! We will return to the Inn on Charlotte Street on our next visit.

Room Tip: I clicked Fitness Center by accident and this site wouldn't let me remove it. There is no fitne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We will tell Ginny-bug (her nick-name) that you said she's 'a doll'. We think the world of her, too. It was a pleasure meeting you and Happy birthday to you. We hope you will not wait another 4 years before you come back to see us at the Inn on Charlotte.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    53
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
47
847
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had a very positive experience while visiting the Inn. This place is very quaint, and excellently located right in the center of St. Augustine. I enjoyed the fact that the Hyppo (which I also highly recommend for delicious ice pops) is right next door. The owners were very personable, as were the rest of the staff. They were all attentive to our needs and were more than happy to answer any questions we had. They had good recommendations for places to eat, and even gave us coupons for free dessert at some local cafés. In the evening, my partner and I were glad to be able to enjoy the oh so yummy cookies and lemonade available 'round the clock downstairs. The bed was comfortable, and there was plenty of privacy in the room. Thanks for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
And thank you, for this review. We love the Hippo Too! Have you had their pepper/mango, or ginger/basil - OMG!
Anyway - it was great to meet you and thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you back at the Inn on Charlotte.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I returned to the Inn on Charlotte for our anniversary weekend. It was our second stay at the inn. We have stayed at other inns during our visits to St. Augustine and none can compare to the service and quality of a stay at the Inn on Charlotte. The inn is, quite simply, superb in every way. The supply of chocolate chip cookies, lemonade, pretzels, and iced tea is endless. The rooms are clean and well-cared for. And the breakfast! It is delicious and a wonderful way to start the day. The waffles with the special syrup, poached pears and sausage were delicious. It is apparent the owners love what they do. We will be back, as we return every three to four months to St. Augustine. This is the inn for us!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are charming and elegant. You don't have to pick the biggest room or the one w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TammiWindermere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
What a wonderful review, thank you. As experienced travelers to St Augustine you know there are plenty of bed and breakfasts to choose from. So we are happy you chose us and want to return. Happy anniversary and we look forward to seeing you in a couple months.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Georgia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend at The Inn on Charlotte. It completely exceeded our expectations! It is immaculate, beautifully quaint & cozy with very comfortable accommodations. It is located in the middle of everything, super convenient to anything you'd want to do in St. Augustine with over a dozen restaurants and bars within a three block walk. We enjoyed a two course breakfast each morning served on china and crystal that would impress anyone. Wine/Social hour is a big hit late afternoon on the front porch watching all the activity on the streets. I can't say enough about this spot with the staff being the highlight! Thank you Rodney, Jerry, Ann and sweet Ginny!! We can't wait to come back!!!

Room Tip: The Audubon Room is in the back part of the house making it quieter than those on the street. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elyse B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
It was a joy to host you guys for your long weekend - and sad to see you go. Thank you for the review and we can't wait for your return. I'm sure we will pickup right were we left off.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I chose the Inn on Charlotte based on TripAdvisor reviews. We stayed in Henry Flagler's Veranda Room. This room is located on the second floor and has its own semi-private (shared with one other room but separated by ceiling-high potted plants for privacy) veranda facing Charlotte Street- a very pleasant location to sit and have a quiet drink in the evening. The Inn is beautifully appointed and the rates were very reasonable. The breakfasts were delicious and imaginative. The seating is individual tables, not family style - gives you and opportunity to either "meet and greet" or have a private meal. Rod, the owner, and the staff were gracious and attentive. The Inn is located in the middle of everything and is within easy walking distance of most of the sites, a majority of the shops and restaurants and (if needed) one block from the trolley stop. Due to unforeseeable circumstances, we had to reschedule our trip - more than once actually. Rod could not have been more understanding or accommodating. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docwgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
We are pleased to make your stay in St Augustine special. Everything you pointed out are distinct items we do, have done, for our guests. Thank you for the review and please come back and learn more about the old city.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We highly recommend this B&B; our room was immaculate, the breakfast was first rate and Rod was a wonderful host. The inn is centrally located so it is convenient to all there is to do in beautiful Saint Augustine. We will most definitely return when we visit St. Augustine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Perfect review, thank you. And please come back to see us very soon.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at the Inn On Charlotte in February, 2013. The Inn is decorated beautifully, the bedrooms very comfortable, and the breakfasts superb! Rod and his staff couldn't have been any nicer or friendlier. We enjoyed "Happy Hour" on the lovely porch, listening to the water falling in the fountain and chatting with the other guests. The location is perfect for catching the trolley, visiting the many shops nearby, and site-seeing. We would definitely return if we visit St. Augustine again! Jerry and Judy Hegarty

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
It was our pleasure to host you. Thank you for this kind review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#6 of 78 in St. Augustine
923 reviews
0.1 mi away
44 Spanish Street Inn
44 Spanish Street Inn
#5 of 31 in St. Augustine
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 31 in St. Augustine
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Charlotte

Property: Inn On Charlotte
Address: 52 Charlotte St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3647
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 'Adults Only' Inn that ranks in the Top 5 because of our, clean rooms, great breakfasts, and the Inn's super location. It was built in 1918 so she is an elegant Edwardian bed and breakfast in the heart of the nation's oldest city. We are just steps from the bay front on a brick-lined street. The home has been lovingly restored to reflect its original grandeur and is carefully decorated with antique furnishings and accessories. As a bed and breakfast since 1993, the Inn on Charlotte has become known for its Southern hospitality which, of course, means relaxation and comfort for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Inn On Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Charlotte Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing