We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“December stay at Inn on Charlotte was wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn On Charlotte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn On Charlotte
Ranked #5 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
“December stay at Inn on Charlotte was wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Inn on Charlotte is located in the center of the Historic District of Saint Augustine. We could not have asked for a more convenient location. When we arrived, we were warmly greeted and given a tour of the home, which was beautifully decorated for the holidays. We had a very comfortable nights sleep, and in the morning the chef prepared a most wonderful breakfast. I would definitely stay at Inn on Charlotte again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for the review. We too enjoy walking to shops and restaurants when we book at bed and breakfasts, so we are pleased you mentioned that. It's important to enjoying one's stay. Come back during the year when all the holiday decor is put-up. We think you will approve.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    982
    51
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
46
816
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed three nights at the Inn On Charlotte last week, We were there fot the "Nights of Lights" which is held each year from Thanksgiving thru New Years. The Inn is located right in the heart of the old city. The location was terrific for touring, shopping, and dining. We were one block from the bay, only several blocks from the fort, historic shopping, Flagler College, etc.

The room we stayed in was Flagler's Veranda. It was located on the 2nd floor front with a covered porch. I spent a lot of time there people watching. The bed was very comfortable, which is important to me as I have a bad back. Breakfast was a gourmet experience. There was coffee and tea available throughout the day; fresh cookies in the afternoon; lemonade, ice tea, fruit water alsl available at all times.

Ann was our hostess, cook, etc. while we were there and we can not praise her enough. She was friendly, attentive, and made us feel like we were the most important people there. We would not hesitate to recommend the inn to anyone and would definitely return there should we go back to St. Augustine.

Room Tip: Flaglers Veranda at the 2nd floor front with the covered porch was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray4461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for the detailed review, I'm sure it will be very helpful to others choosing the right place for them. The Inn on Charlotte prides herself on hospitality, we are pleased you noticed. We hope you will return to our little village once again, one day.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I've been wanting to stay at the Inn on Charlotte for quite some time and boy was it worth the wait! Excellent staff and Rodney is a wonderful cook. We loved the hospitality and the room was so cozy with a great bed. Thank you again for making our girls weekend one we will never forget!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristiB710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BONITA SPRINGS
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was our first 2-night stay at the Inn and it was incredible. The staff was so nice and pleasant. The breakfast each morning was gourmet to say the least and fabulous. We stayed in the carriage house with the private entrance and loved the room. It's in a great location, in the heart of the historic district and walking distance to the city. Many awesome restaurants around as well. Can't wait to go back...Thank you

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lite4hous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
You're very welcome. Thank you; It was a pleasure meeting you both and we look forward to seeing you back at The Inn on Charlotte.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

My girlfiend and I decided to stay at THE INN ON CHARLOTTE. This was my girlfriend's first time to ST. AUGUSTINE and my fourth . We decided to experience a B&B. We chose a B&B on a consenses of prevoius reviews. This place lived up to its previous stella reviews . As we pulled into their assigned parking lot, somebody was parked in our designated spot . It was immediately handled. Check in was great , easy and convienent . Our room was amazing ( LIL DIAMOND), Although next time I recommend a room with a balcany so you can people watch ( IF YOU ARE INTO THAT) because of the location . The location can not get any better than where they are located , right in the heart of OLD ST. AUGUSTINE. Breakfast was amazing . I have stayed at other B&B'S where it seemed like a their breakfast was cooked like IHOP or DENNY'S. This was a gourmet breakfast . We met both owners. Rodney was one of the owners and he made us feel like we were at home. He gave us great suggestions on where to eat , get a drink , have a cigar , etc. . I USUALLY DO NOT WRITE REVIEWS BUT I FELT COMPELLED TO SHARE MY EXPERIENCE WITH OTHERS SO THEY DECIDE FOR THEMSELVES AFTER READING POSITIVE REVIEWS THAT THIS IS A PLACE TO STAY. WE WILL BE BACK . YOU MIGHT READ OTHER COMMENTS THAT THERE WAS A LOT OF NOISE IN THE AREA LATER AT NIGHT . PEOPLE MUST REMEMBER THAT IS OUT OF THEIR CONTOL , WE STAYED THURSDAY ON THANKSGIVING AND FRIDAY NIGHT . YOU MUST REMEMBER THEY ARE LOCATED RIGHT IN THE HEART OF EVERYTHING SO YOU WILL HEAR SOME NOISE . THE OWNERS PLACED IPOD/IPHONE DOCKING STATIONS IN EACH ROOM AND THEY ARE EVEN CAPABLE OF PLAYING PLEASANT SOUNDS ( RAIN, OCEAN , CRICKETS, ETC.) THE NOISE DIDNT BOTHER US . YOU WONT REGRET STAYOING HERE .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lance5371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
And the great Balcony Debate continues...
Thank you for the great review. I think you summed-up the Great Balcony Debate well. The only thing I would add is - we are a very active old city. St Augie always has some festival, parade, road-race, re-enactment, etc. going on. On top of that, we have a lot of live music in the evening, students form Flagler College, motorcycles with loud pipes... So no matter what lodging one chooses in St Augustine, there is always something to disturb light sleepers. The Inn on Charlotte has added 'Sleep Machines' in each room for those who like/need a little white noise.

Travel safe and see you back soon,

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our stay at the Inn on Charlotte was exceptional! It was our first time in St. Augustine and we couldn't have found a better place to stay. We were here for two days and discovered it takes a lot more than a couple of days to explore the city. The Inn on Charlotte is located within walking distance of the historic downtown area.

The rooms that our party stayed in were luxuriously appointed with antiques and art. My wife and I stayed in the "Haven" and our friends stayed in the "Verandah". Both rooms had an adjoining balcony that overlooked the street. We spent most of our evenings "people watching" on that balcony.

The breakfasts were sumptuous and healthy. Rod, the owner served us an egg casserole dish that was handed down from her grandmother. Absolutely delicious!

Since there is a lot more to St. Augustine, we will definitely be coming back and staying at the Inn on Charlotte!

Thank you so much Rod!

Room Tip: Stay either at the Haven or Verandah if you like to watch people from the upper balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
What a great idea when traveling together! Those two rooms allow the 4 of you to have a common area on the 2nd story porch. And thank you for the review. Some people love the street side, and others don't like the hustle & bustle of the street at all, especially on weekend nights. Our guests rely on reviews like this to get the information they need to choose wisely. Thanks again and we hope to see you back again soon.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakemary, FL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary in St. Augustine. We chose the Inn On Charlotte after reviewing Trip Advisor. The Inn On Charlotte is amazingly located, only about 2 blocks from the Castillo de San Marco, and within easy walking distance from restaurants, shopping, and other attractions.
The Inn itself is beautifully appointed and the owner and staff are pleasant and helpful. Our room was pretty, nicely furnished, and very very comfortable.
The only possible downside to our visit was the restaurant/bar across the street. It turns out that on weekends, this place becomes lively indeed! There was singing, laughter, and even cheering until way into the early hours of the morning! I have to say, though, that it wasn't really bothersome and I shouldn't have been surprised given the Inn central location. Besides, the bed was SOOOOO comfortable that my wife slept right through the revelry!
So in the final analysis, We still consider the Inn On Charlotte to be a Must-Stay choice for St. Augustine. We highly highly recommend the Inn On Charlotte!

Room Tip: Be careful of Fridays and Saturdays due to the sound of partying from across the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lola13th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Happy anniversary! Thank you for this informative review, and the hardy recommendation. It's reviews like these that help travelers choose just the right room. With 6 other rooms that are not on the street-side with both King and Queen size beds, there is always a room for everyone at the Inn on Charlotte. This review will help folks to choose the one right for them.

See you gain soon, and thank you!

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#9 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#10 of 31 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Charlotte

Property: Inn On Charlotte
Address: 52 Charlotte St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3647
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saint Augustine's only 'Adults Only' Inn that ranks in the Top 5 because of clean rooms, our breakfasts, and the Inn's great location. It was built in 1918 so she is an elegant Edwardian bed and breakfast in the heart of the nation's oldest city. We are just steps from the bay front on a brick-lined street. The home has been lovingly restored to reflect its original grandeur and is carefully decorated with antique furnishings and accessories. As a bed and breakfast since 1993, the Inn on Charlotte has become known for its Southern hospitality which, of course, means relaxation and comfort for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn On Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Charlotte Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing