We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St. Augustine at its best”
Review of Inn On Charlotte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn On Charlotte
Ranked #4 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oldsmar, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“St. Augustine at its best”
Reviewed April 18, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at the Inn on Charlotte for our anniversary. The location is perfect. One of the hassles of old town St. Augustine is finding parking, so it was nice to park the car and walk all week-end. We really enjoyed the balcony of our room. It is great for people watching. Rodney and Jerry were great hosts, very helpful with the local scene. The food was very good, and the wine social hour put the finishing touch on a perfect week-end getaway. We hope to visit the Inn on Charlotte again soon.

Room Tip: Check the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SondePatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Thank you for this outstanding review. Parking is a premium here in St Augustine and we are so lucky to be able to have 3 on site and the other 5 less than 300 feet from The Inn On Charlotte. People watching on our front porch, or balcony, is a favorite way to enjoy the day while visiting with us.

We look forward to your next visit with us.

Rodney, RaeAnn and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    53
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
47
847
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We (3 girls) a spectaculat stay at the Inn! It was a perfect atmosphere for our girlfriend getaway! The homemade breakfasts were "to die for" and the staff was spectacular, accomodated every need and want, and make us feel right at home. It was also the perfect location for walking to dining, shopping, etc.

I GIVE THE INN 5 stars for everything, and have already recommended it to my parents to visit as well!

Thanks for making the GIRLFRIENDS feel at home in your home!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachlaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
We are so very happy for our 5 star rating from you girls. We enjoyed spending time with you and hope that we will see you 3 again next year if not sooner.

Rodney, RaeAnn and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2011

My husband and I found Inn on Charlotte through the web while searching for a bed and breakfast in Saint Augustine to spend our honeymoon in. We could not be happier with the Inn on Charlotte. The service was AMAZING. The room was BEAUTIFUL. The food was DELICIOUS. We will definitely be returning here over and over again throughtout the years. If you are looking for a bed and breakfast in the Saint Augustine area look no further than Inn on Charlotte. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsrocky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Now this is the kind of review we live and work for. Thank you so very much for choosing The Inn On Charlotte and this wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoyed your honeymoon here and we certainly look forward to seeing you again soon.

Many Thanks!

Rodney, RaeAnn and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2011

The owners were gracious hosts, the room was incredibly comfortable, and everything was in walking distance from our Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniellejoy32828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Thank you for this great review. Your comment - Couldn't have picked a better place to stay - means a lot to each of us here at The Inn On Charlotte. Our location does make it very easy to walk to everything on St George Street, the Bayfront, many fine restaurants and to the Fort.

Please come back to see us soon.

Rodney, RaeAnn and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

The Inn is located in the heart of the St. Augustine historic district very close to everything. Steve and Rodney are great hosts, even came to our car to carry our bags and provided us a glass of wine on the porch. The house is beautiful, well decorated, comfortable and the air conditioning works well (important in Florida in an old house). Two things. We were surprised to come back after dinner to find the living room locked off at night. Hard for me to sit up and read while wife goes to bed, or to sit and visit with the other guests. We also had great expectations created for the breakfast which was mediocre at best, although we understand the substitute cook was in that day. Still, it was not as promised, so we were disappointed.

The guys also have an excellent website making it easy to see the room layouts and pick your favorite.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floridatraveler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Manager at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Thank you very much for this review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the complements on the Inn On Charlotte. To address your nits, we lock the common rooms when we leave because we have found that guests do not always close and lock the front door. We have often found non guests walking around the Inn which causes us concern for your safety and the personal belongings / family antiques that we have in the Inn. Our breakfast menu rotates, so we are not sure which breakfast you were not happy with. We announce upon arrival what we will be serving the next day and give guests the opportunity to request something different if the ingredients do not agree with them.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Rodney, RaeAnn and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2011

my husband and i went to the inn on charlotte for our 20th anniversary. he is not a huge fan of B and B, so i was a little nervous because sometimes websites can be misleading. i thought the innn on charlotte had a great website, but the real place was even better! It was absolutely the best choice for our anniversary weekend . The room was gorgeous, we spent a lot of time on the balcony, the breakfasts were as good as other reviewers report, and the location was just perfect. Before we went, I made a list of the other inns i had considered, and we went and looked at all them. None of them were anywhere near as nice as the Inn on Charlotte! The best part of it was the warm welcoming atmosphere provided by Rodney Jerry and Rae Ann. They were all very helpful and quick in responding to my many stupid email questions, and they went out of their way to give us the relaxing romantic weekend we wanted. i am buying my daughter a gift certificate to go there for her upcoming first wedding anniversary and plan to return to the inn on charlotte very soon. i just loved everything about it. and wanted to stay longer. The belgian waffles and fritatattas were SO GOOD

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trigeek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Thank you for choosing The Inn On Charlotte for your 20th anniversary. We are so very happy that you enjoyed your stay and want to stay longer with us. We strive for this each day and thank you for your compliments on our breakfasts. We look forward to hosting your daughter on her first wedding anniversary.

We enjoyed talking with you and helping you plan your day. Please come back to see us soon.

Rodney, RaeAnn and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Great food, friendly staff, very convenient location

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mary Lily's Suite, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chewtabacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
Thank you for choosing The Inn On Charlotte and your nice review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Rodney, RaeAnn and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#6 of 78 in St. Augustine
922 reviews
0.1 mi away
44 Spanish Street Inn
44 Spanish Street Inn
#5 of 31 in St. Augustine
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 31 in St. Augustine
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Charlotte

Property: Inn On Charlotte
Address: 52 Charlotte St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3647
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 'Adults Only' Inn that ranks in the Top 5 because of our, clean rooms, great breakfasts, and the Inn's super location. It was built in 1918 so she is an elegant Edwardian bed and breakfast in the heart of the nation's oldest city. We are just steps from the bay front on a brick-lined street. The home has been lovingly restored to reflect its original grandeur and is carefully decorated with antique furnishings and accessories. As a bed and breakfast since 1993, the Inn on Charlotte has become known for its Southern hospitality which, of course, means relaxation and comfort for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inn On Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Charlotte Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing