We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old City House Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, NH
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We get tired of being underwhelmed by restaurants so this was a nice surprise with the creative attention to every detail. Wonderful food and wine choices at (bonus) decent prices ! Don't miss it if you love good food and a historic pub /inn atmosphere!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Betsy-Dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    43
    12
    8
    1
See reviews for
35
172
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed at The Old City House once before under different ownership and in a room on the other side of the building and we were pleased with our room and breakfast meals. This visit they still had a great one choice breakfast meal, but our visit was not. We stayed in the Alcazar which is located closest to the Casa Monica. The noise started early with equipment running, the workers that were pressure washing and painting the Casa Monica talking, delivery semis, box trucks backing up with beeping
warnings and street noise. Because the room was rather warm at times since we had no control over the thermostat we had to open the windows. Our last night there we were kept awake by hammering sounds that lasted between 1:30 am to 4:30 am inside the Inn. My husband had to get up and try to find out where the noise was coming from. Beds are small and not very comfy. Don't expect internet service in your room. The staff was extremely nice, but not getting my sleep on vacation is not good. My suggestion is don't get a room next to Casa Monica.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KentuckyFreebirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

You can't beat the location of this B&B near the central square and St. George's street. The breakfast was very good and the room was quiet and private. A little wear showing in the bathroom and our room could use a fresh coat of paint on the walls - but no problems to the extent that it detracts from a wonderful stay. Very convenient parking.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beach_Life_PVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights at the beginning of March. We had reserved for three nights but had very cold weather and decided to head south earlier. Management was very kind and released our room to see if it could be rented to avoid charging us for the cancelled night. They were able to fill it, and we were promptly reimbursed.

If you stay, make a reservation for dinner immediately. They were booked solid the night we wanted to have dinner. Food looked lovely. The breakfasts were two courses and delicious. Breakfast is served starting at 9 AM which might be a problem for early risers, but just fine for us.

We had the Lightner room with a tiny balcony facing the Lightner Museum across the street and a view to the right of Flagler College. It's a pretty room but not comfortable for a longer stay. It was great for our needs though.

A happy hour with a complimentary house wine and cheese plate was a available at 5 PM. The wine was very good and a generous pour. The staff was wonderful and friendly. We wish we could have been there in nicer weather to enjoy the pretty outdoor area.

All in all, we would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesterGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Old City House Inn over a Sunday and Monday night in February, Both mornings we stopped by the downstairs restaurant after 8 AM and it was closed. Not even available coffee service. We found Starbucks on the corner in the Casa Monica hotel, thank goodness! Check with the folks when you make your reservation....We stayed in the Flagler Room on the 2nd floor. Very quaint and very clean. However, the bed was rock hard (not firm, hard!) and we did not sleep well. The A/C is apparently centrally controlled because although there were vents in the room, we could find no temperature controls. Slept with the windows open for cooler air (actually only one window had a screen in it). This might be a bigger problem during the heat of the summer. This particular room is adjacent to a nice deck seating area but this is very close and privacy is an issue. We had to keep the curtains closed day and night as people sitting on the deck could see (and hear) what was happening in the room. This applies to privacy for the room next door as well. Luckily, the evenings and nights were quiet. This inn is in a wonderful location for all the tourist activities but there are also many more well located inns, B&B,s and hotels in the old town area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanne323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Joe, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This was our second stay at the Old City Inn and we have decided to make this our first choice when visiting St. Augustine. We love it here and we always try and make at least one trip a year to St. Augustine. We are so glad we found the Old City Inn, and we have recommended this B&B to several of our friends. If you are going to St. Augustine stay here, you will not be sorry, the location, food and service is the best. We plan on going back as soon as we can, and we will be staying at the Old City Inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse N Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2014

If you do not have an issue with money, this is a perfect choice for your romentic stay. Everything was good. What you get, what you pay for. This could not be more true for this nice accomodation.

1. Service: It was good. But the office closed a little bit earlier than I thought.
2. Value: It was a little bit high, but it is worth to try.
3. Sleep Quality: It was very good. I could sleep like a bay in the nice bed set.
4. Cleanliness: Very clean
5. Location: Everything you want, it takes only 1 minutes to get them around.

If you are willing to pay a little bit more? And try to impress your partner? And want to have a nice and awesome food with no waiting time? This is the your place then.

ps: Please try to get Eggs benedict here. The best eggs benedict ever!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sangrae C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.1 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#12 of 31 in St. Augustine
500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#10 of 31 in St. Augustine
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old City House Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old City House Inn and Restaurant

Property: Old City House Inn and Restaurant
Address: 115 Cordova St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-4413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old City House Inn and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Old City House Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old City House Inn And Restaurant Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing