We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful For a Short Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old City House Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful For a Short Stay”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights at the beginning of March. We had reserved for three nights but had very cold weather and decided to head south earlier. Management was very kind and released our room to see if it could be rented to avoid charging us for the cancelled night. They were able to fill it, and we were promptly reimbursed.

If you stay, make a reservation for dinner immediately. They were booked solid the night we wanted to have dinner. Food looked lovely. The breakfasts were two courses and delicious. Breakfast is served starting at 9 AM which might be a problem for early risers, but just fine for us.

We had the Lightner room with a tiny balcony facing the Lightner Museum across the street and a view to the right of Flagler College. It's a pretty room but not comfortable for a longer stay. It was great for our needs though.

A happy hour with a complimentary house wine and cheese plate was a available at 5 PM. The wine was very good and a generous pour. The staff was wonderful and friendly. We wish we could have been there in nicer weather to enjoy the pretty outdoor area.

All in all, we would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesterGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    43
    12
    8
    1
See reviews for
34
172
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Old City House Inn over a Sunday and Monday night in February, Both mornings we stopped by the downstairs restaurant after 8 AM and it was closed. Not even available coffee service. We found Starbucks on the corner in the Casa Monica hotel, thank goodness! Check with the folks when you make your reservation....We stayed in the Flagler Room on the 2nd floor. Very quaint and very clean. However, the bed was rock hard (not firm, hard!) and we did not sleep well. The A/C is apparently centrally controlled because although there were vents in the room, we could find no temperature controls. Slept with the windows open for cooler air (actually only one window had a screen in it). This might be a bigger problem during the heat of the summer. This particular room is adjacent to a nice deck seating area but this is very close and privacy is an issue. We had to keep the curtains closed day and night as people sitting on the deck could see (and hear) what was happening in the room. This applies to privacy for the room next door as well. Luckily, the evenings and nights were quiet. This inn is in a wonderful location for all the tourist activities but there are also many more well located inns, B&B,s and hotels in the old town area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanne323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Joe, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This was our second stay at the Old City Inn and we have decided to make this our first choice when visiting St. Augustine. We love it here and we always try and make at least one trip a year to St. Augustine. We are so glad we found the Old City Inn, and we have recommended this B&B to several of our friends. If you are going to St. Augustine stay here, you will not be sorry, the location, food and service is the best. We plan on going back as soon as we can, and we will be staying at the Old City Inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse N Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2014

If you do not have an issue with money, this is a perfect choice for your romentic stay. Everything was good. What you get, what you pay for. This could not be more true for this nice accomodation.

1. Service: It was good. But the office closed a little bit earlier than I thought.
2. Value: It was a little bit high, but it is worth to try.
3. Sleep Quality: It was very good. I could sleep like a bay in the nice bed set.
4. Cleanliness: Very clean
5. Location: Everything you want, it takes only 1 minutes to get them around.

If you are willing to pay a little bit more? And try to impress your partner? And want to have a nice and awesome food with no waiting time? This is the your place then.

ps: Please try to get Eggs benedict here. The best eggs benedict ever!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sangrae C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our second stay at Old City Inn, maybe better than the first! We had a few complications with the room reservations, late arrival, etc. Juan and Christopher went out of their way to solve our problems and make our stay a great time! As always, food was very good, with excellent presentations, staff was friendly (thanks for your patience Mack!) and pro-active. Location of Inn is great, as downtown shops, restaurants, bars and attractions are just a few minutes away by foot. Hotel is charming (read small and older), and that is a good thing, as atmosphere and ambiance go a long way to making the stay feel like a relaxing vacation, versus staying in a big, cookie cutter box of a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pwalker57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed at Old City House Inn for two nights during our visit to St. Augustine in February, 2014. We stayed in the St. George room which was beautiful - a hot tub, a luxuriant comfortable bed, and exquisite furnishings. The location is excellent, as it is situated within the historical area of St. Augustine. We were, therefore, able to walk to all destinations - including a beautiful walk around the historical homes in the evening.

Breakfast was included with our stay - and the breakfast was beyond delicious. It was both gastronomically fulfilling and a treat to the eyes. Their chef(s) are truly artists in every way. As well, on our last night at this delightful Inn, we booked dinner and were equally impressed with the dinner menu - both taste and presentation - WOW does not even begin to describe our dining experience.

More than anything, however, was the exceptional service that was provided. We were treated as though we were truly important at all times - not just a client "number", and the staff were helpful in accommodating all of our needs. We felt as though we were part of a family and that our patronage of this cute Inn was deemed valuable. This charming and historically Spaniard-influenced Inn became a home away from home, while the staff also respected our privacy and "down-time".

Room Tip: We stayed in the St. George room, which was on the second floor, relatively quiet, with a huge corne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Betty Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We found this place through trip advisor , It was all everybody said food was great
service was spot in , not rushed I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone
and I will be going back next year when I am back in St Augustine

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackief1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.1 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#13 of 31 in St. Augustine
496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#10 of 31 in St. Augustine
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old City House Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old City House Inn and Restaurant

Property: Old City House Inn and Restaurant
Address: 115 Cordova St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-4413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old City House Inn and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Old City House Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old City House Inn And Restaurant Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing