We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B! Exceeded Expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old City House Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 30 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I are newlyweds and decided to try a bed & breakfast for the first time. We booked the St. George room for 2 nights during the week. When we first arrived we were thrilled to find they had reserved parking spaces so you don't have to pay or go searching for parallel parking somewhere! The Inn has a lovely historical look with a beautiful garden and balcony patio with tables and sitting areas. They have music playing softly throughout the inn and we immediately fell in love before even walking in!

Upon arriving, we were greeted by one of the owners, Juan, who gave us a quick tour and showed us to our room. As noted, there was a private entrance up to the guest rooms which was very convenient. Our room was extremely spacious and included a Jacuzzi tub! All around the inn, including in the rooms, there were fresh orchids which added a wonderful touch.

When we left to go sightseeing, we quickly found that the location of the inn was another huge plus! It is located just a couple blocks away from all the hustle and bustle of the busy downtown streets. We were still able to walk everywhere, and then come back to our quiet street that wasn't surrounded by loud bars and people.

After our long days of sightseeing, we made a habit of relaxing on the couches by the wine bar and winding down with their complimentary glass of wine and cheese platter. We also ordered appetizers each night and the food was spectacular! The presentation blew us away and everything we tried was excellent! The breakfast was also amazing! Each morning we were served two different courses of fresh, homemade dishes that were delicious!

Above all, what really made our stay so wonderful was the staff! The owners, Juan & Christopher, were so nice! They really go above and beyond to make sure you are comfortable and enjoying your stay. We actually spent both nights hanging out with them at the bar having great conversations and so much fun! Every member of the staff was so friendly and accommodating to us. They offered great advice on places to go and things to do around St. Augustine and were happy to help us with anything we needed.

We truly felt so welcomed, relaxed and at home while we were there. It was the perfect place for a nice romantic getaway and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for Old City House Inn and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 271 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was our second stay at the Old City House, having visited there in October. Some of the faces were new and some familiar, but all were friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Flagler Room on both visits, and it is like a home away from home. It was rearranged slightly this visit, which seems to have given it more space. There is a small alcove in the room which had a sofa, but now contains a day-bed, which is a nice addition and makes the room perhaps a bit more convenient for those traveling with a chid.

The location is outstanding! The Inn is located on Cordova Street, which is much quieter than most locations so close to the heart of the old city. The Cathedral is about two blocks away. Flagler College is about a block away, and the city hall is right across the street. Don't miss the Lightener Museum located in the town hall. It is well worth a visit.

St. George street passes right behind the Inn, but the pedestrian-only section with its shopping, dining, and drinking establishments (and loud music) begins about two blocks away, adjacent the Cathedral.

The breakfast was very good! We did not try the restaurant for lunch or dinner, though. This was not because it was unappealing, but because there are so many fine establishments in St. Augustine there was simply not enough time to try them all.

They have a couple of bicycles available on a first-come, first-served basis to guests staying in the inn. Bicycles are an excellent way to get around in St. Augustine if you are traveling beyond the old city area itself, which is best seen on foot. We parked our car upon arrival and did not use it during our stay either visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shapley_Hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Check in is a breeze because it's a b&b there are no long lines and the parking lot is right next to the building, so you don't need a porter. The restaurant is fantastic. They offered us a complimentary drink with a cheese and fruit plate every afternoon. The breakfast is good. The Inn is quaint and located just off a main street, so it's quiet, but just a short walk to the shops. The staff were all friendly, courteous and hospitable. When you figure the time & cost savings of the breakfast included, the convenience and quality of the restaurant, the location, the hassle free check in & out, it all makes for a smooth, quality, peaceful vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my meals at The Old City House and Inn. The new owners Juan and Christopher are outstanding and make every trip to dine a very pleasant one. Their servers are all very knowledgeable, not only about The Old City House and Inn, but of the whole area. If they do not know, they will find out before you leave. I personally will and have recommended The Old City House and Inn to many people and friends. Their location is perfect and easy to walk to all of the local sites. Give it a try, you will thoroughly enjoy your dining experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Old City House! The location is just off the main street of shops, it's quiet, clean, the breakfast and afternoon snacks which is included with your stay is five star! The gardens with beautiful orchids are relaxing resting spots throughout the property. We would definitely stay again! Old City House would be a great destination for a wedding!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Darlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was our first stay here and it was wonderful, our room was great and so was the breakfast. We are planning on staying here again and we have told several of our friends about it. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful, they helped to make our stay wonderful. Try this place out, also in a great location to all the sites.

Room Tip: We stayed in the St. George Room and it was great.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jesse N Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great historic building in the perfect location. Walkable to everything! The owners Juan and Christopher are very welcoming and make guests feel right at home. The welcome cheese platter and drinks at the restaurant were a great way to start our weekend. The restaurant has the perfect "historic feel". The food is fresh, amazing presentation and every bite delicious. Breakfast each day was literally a piece of art! We really enjoyed the private entry to our guestroom (all rooms do), not typical of a normal B&B. The rooms were clean, spacious and kept with the St. Augustine charm.

Since our return home, we have told many friends about this property and plan to continually spread the word. This B&B is so amazing! Juan and Christopher and wonderful hosts.

Looking forward to more visits!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 922db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#11 of 30 in St. Augustine
509 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#9 of 30 in St. Augustine
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old City House Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old City House Inn and Restaurant

Address: 115 Cordova St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-4413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range: $183 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old City House Inn and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Old City House Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old City House Inn And Restaurant Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing