We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliance at its best”
Review of Penny Farthing Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Penny Farthing Inn
Ranked #12 of 30 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Marie and family, Betty (cook/house cleaner) included, provide a wonderful, happy, clean, atmosphere within a beautiful setting that is Penny Farthing Inn, St Augustine, FL!
Not far at all from the main town and yet secluded enough for a good night's sleep!
The rooms are beautiful within a stunning building (house).
We (my wife and I) spent over a week there whilst visiting my mum, dad, sister and family friends during Thanksgiving/early December; highly recommend the Penny Farthing Inn and would DEFINITELY go back and stay myself/ourselves!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank baloo2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 668 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

Penny Farthing Inn was a very pleasant find in St. Augustine. We spent four nights there - the owner and staff were extremely friendly. The room we were in (The Cambridge) was very nice - even had a fire place (it got quite cold in mid January). It was a wonderful place to come home to each night... within walking distance of downtown, was very convenient. Breakfast was nice, although a little too often with eggs.... Overall room and ambiance were great - only complaint would be areas of the room were a bit dusty, otherwise, well worth the money and made St. Augustine even better than it is!

Room Tip: They have a web site with pictures, be sure to check it out! Very quiet location in any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Penny Farthing Inn is ideally situated for a car-less traveller to explore Saint Augustine, situated about a block away from the Lightner Museum. The over century-old property is charming with a handsome bed and tasteful old-fashioned paintings. The owners and staff are beyond lovely; truly delightful human beings. I almost felt like old friends with staff, proprietor and proprietress by the end of the visit. They really bend over backwards to make you feel cared about and hosted a New Year's Eve party for guests with delightful musical entertainment, which is going above and beyond the call of duty. In addition to some terrific breakfasts, there was invariably some sort of treat set out mid-afternoon, ranging from scones to apple pie to other goodies. I don't want to sound pollyannaish but frankly, I felt spoiled and despite the rain, was entirely enamoured of everything and everyone there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtlbaltdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I have never stayed at a B &B before so was excited about the experience. The owners, Marie and Dave provided the perfect balance of friendliness and privacy. We were greeted warmly and oriented to the inn as well as dining and touring recommendations. It was within walking distance to shopping and sight seeing. The inn, as well as the other 3 inns adjacent on a quiet one way street, was decorated so nicely with holiday lights and a CharlesDickens theme decor. It was the last evening off a trolley tour of Christmas lights, so we sat outside as the trolley passed and oohed over the decorations. Our room (the Cambridge) was perfect, just couple stairs to access, was quiet and a comfortable king bed. The breakfasts were delicious...one morning was homemade rum bread pudding and bacon and yogurt with granola. Next morning was gorgeous eggs Benedict with fresh fruit. Betty does breakfast duty and housekeeping and is as nice as can be. Fun to talk to other guests in eve with glass of wine and finger foods before venturing out for dinner. We will be back!!

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Kris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Penny Farthing Inn was fantastic!!! Great charm & exceptional hospitality!! The inn was all decked out in xmas decorations and was an amazing site to see. A great location and very close to all the sites. We can't wait to visit again soon!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beauregard71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The Penny Farthing Inn is a lovely bed and breakfast owned by a family from England. They have the perfect small town charm and warmth. Check in was easy and check out was equally delightful. The breakfast is a traditional British breakfast which was ample and freshly made by one of the owners. They were always happy to chat with you but never overbearing. We had the second largest room which had a porch with a porch swing, and was inexpensive compared to the other B & B's in St. Augustine. An added bonus, each of the rooms had a decanter of Sherry waiting for you at check-in.

I highly recommend this bed & breakfast and will gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: If available, go for one of the two top rooms. They have porches with swings and observation decks a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The Penny Farthing Inn was my first experience with a bed and breakfast and I was not disappointed. My wife and I stayed for a long weekend. Everything was perfect. We stayed in the Tree House room. It was nice having a separate balcony and being in the trees. The location was perfect for walking distance to everything. The service was the best I have ever had and the breakfast was delicious. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KPrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#11 of 30 in St. Augustine
518 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
44 Spanish Street Inn
44 Spanish Street Inn
#5 of 30 in St. Augustine
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast
Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 30 in St. Augustine
884 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 30 in St. Augustine
941 reviews
0.0 mi away
Peace and Plenty Inn
Peace and Plenty Inn
#14 of 30 in St. Augustine
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penny Farthing Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penny Farthing Inn

Address: 83 Cedar Street, St. Augustine, FL 32084-4311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range: $159 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penny Farthing Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Penny Farthing Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing