We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing night!”
Review of Penny Farthing Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Penny Farthing Inn
Ranked #12 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an amazing night!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We arrived late in the day and were welcomed with open arms by the nice owners of the inn.
Mary was kind funny and very friendly and right away we felt at home.
With not a second to lose, she knew our family history, what we liked for breakfast and how we liked out toasts.
The inn is walking distance from the great little setting of st Augustine and would recommend it any day!

Room Tip: We took the Victoria room. Was a lot of fun. (No fitness room, my mistake in rating it)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    72
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
57
465
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I road-tripped to St Augustine for a long weekend and the Penny Farthing was a lovely place to call home for 3 nights. Marie, the innkeeper, and Betty, the housekeeper were so friendly and welcoming! Breakfasts were tasty and the B&B was within walking distance of many of the city's most popular attractions. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The hotel is in a 140 year old Victorian home. We stayed in the Tree House room, which was originall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, Essex
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

From the very first moment we arrived we felt like we had come home! A hugely warm welcome from Marie, Dave and Matthew, we felt like family straight away. AND then we had a room upgrade as they where having a quieter week following an extremely busy '4th of July' celebratory week. The B&B is quintessentially Victorian with all it's charms and is located on a quiet street but within very easy reach of all the fun St. Augustine has to offer. A wonderful cooked breakfast awaited us each morning (each day different) including plenty of coffee, tea, juice and water, also take advantage of the late afternoon 'happy hour' with Wines and 'Nibbles' (from cakes to crudities & sandwiches) offered free of charge to relax with after a days adventure, sit on the veranda sipping your wine, taking in the serenity whilst your body recouperates before getting ready to go out for the evening! The rooms offer everything you should need, including hairdryer, toiletries, towels etc which are refreshed each day by the wonderful Betty, who looked after us really well. If you need anything just ask, there is also an iron and board available on request. There is ample parking available and free wifi which is perfect for those on business or just a break away. I usually have trouble sleeping but the fabulous pillow topped mattresses are so snuggly and comfy I had no problems, infact after our 5 nights I didn't want to leave at all! Marie and her family have great knowledge of the area ie where to eat and visit, which they gladly share to help make your stay memorable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Penny Farthing Inn was very delightful to stay in during our visit to St. Augustine! Our room was beautiful,the breakfasts were absolutely delicious,the location was perfect and our hosts there were very helpful and friendly. We were spoiled with detailed care, enjoying relaxing porches, before dinner "treats" and late night sips of sherry. We loved our stay here!

Room Tip: Remember it is Victorian so with age comes older bathrooms and some stairs...but all adds to its qua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pljccw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Charming and welcoming. Easy to find and ample parking. Our English hostess was beautiful and friendly (hugs all round)! The room was lovely and quite spacious as was the private bath. It was nice to have a private balcony as well. Breakfast was delicious and served either in the dining room or outside. My daughter and I chose the deck. We had a wonderful visit and only a short block from Lightner Museum.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Penny Farthing Inn recently. They were so very welcoming and friendly and the room was excellent. We didnt want for anything, they were on the ball with anything and everything we needed. They also offered alot of information about things to do in the St. Augustine area as well as walking, driving directions. Oh and did I forget to mention the fabulous hot breakfast, amazingly delicious! Overall an excellent choice!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay. We stayed in 'La Casita' which was a charming room with antique furniture and lovely touches like a sherry decanter and glasses. The location was great, a short stroll to the town centre and there is a large car park in the back. Our hostess was genuinely friendly and warm and we had a cooked to order breakfast of eggs Benedict- fantastic! I loved St. Augustine and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maeve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.5 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 78 in St. Augustine
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Kenwood Inn
The Kenwood Inn
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
910 reviews
0.4 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#10 of 31 in St. Augustine
558 reviews
0.0 mi away
At Journey's End Bed & Breakfast
At Journey's End Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 31 in St. Augustine
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penny Farthing Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penny Farthing Inn

Property: Penny Farthing Inn
Address: 83 Cedar Street, St. Augustine, FL 32084-4311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penny Farthing Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Penny Farthing Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing