We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business meeting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
House of Sea and Sun
Ranked #24 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Elkton, Florida
1 review
“Business meeting”
Reviewed November 14, 2010

We had a meting of a national organization. We had people fly in from Alabama, New York, Texas and North Carolina. Patty supplied a quiet place for a day long discusion. She was always there if we needed her and quiet when we needed our privacy. Then on Friday night she prepared a great meal for us. We were able to continue our conversations and continue to get work done. All those in attendenance stated that all there needs were served and all of us fell in love with Patty's charm by the end of the weekend. Thank you Patty
Arlow Bailey

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlowb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    13
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
22
80
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2010

The house was gorgeous, the location spectacular, and the hospitality terrific. Our little dog was even made welcome! This is definitely on our list of favorite B&B's.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis-Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

When we first called the House of Sea and Sun and talked to Patty we knew it would be something special. She is a wonderful person, and her staff is amazing. She has an amazing house, and her collection of antique furniture is gorgeous! The breakfasts are great – anyone who offers extra food is a winner in my husband’s book! We look forward to trying her Pad Thai recipe when we get home! It is also just wonderful that they are friendly to all pets and with no extra charge! Penny, our chocolate lab, certainly appreciates it and can’t wait to come back to visit! It was a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lutz822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2010

I would like to recommend this Bed & Breakfast to any travelers or vacationers that want to have a quiet low key rest at a place that has the friendly beach mindset and a right on the beach location. You just walk over the dunes in the backyard to St Augustine beach and its beauty. If you want to walk, jog or take Fido for a run, this Pet friendly establishment is situated perfectly to enjoy the rushing waves of the Alantic Ocean. The breakfast that this Inn serves is homemade and gourmet delicious. The hostess, Patty will warm you with her smile and her generosity. If you are looking for a rest from all the hustle and bustle of your daily life take a room at this bed & breakfast and watch the tension fall from your body.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brancheas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

My husband and I stayed at House of Sea and Sun and had the most relaxing comfortable stay. Patty, the innkeeper, was very hospitable and accommodating to us and invited us to the porch for evening cocktails. Eveyone there was open and friendly, if felt like a family reunion. The room was very comfortable and nicely appointed and had an ocean view. The breakfast was fantastic. We definitely will come back for a longer stay. St. Augustine Beach is a great beach, lots of family activites and tons of restaurants and things to do nearby. We visited the pier and the Castillo de San Marcos fort.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joesy_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunnellon, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Lovely old home, right on the Atlantic. Beautifully decorated rooms, great breakfast, helpful, personable staff, near everything St. Augustine has to offer. Wonderful beach get away.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFS65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Md
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

I was in need of a get-away from my much too-busy routine and wanted to relax by the ocean---but not in a huge institutional hotel-type setting. The House of Sea & Sun was highly recommended to me by a friend who'd stayed there months ago.
Wow! The setting and ambience are so appealing; and the breakfasts! Delicious and sumptuous! The staff and management were overflowing with info and suggestions about local happenings; yet also sensitive to me as a solo traveler who relished quiet time. I'm still blown away by the experience! I'll definitely return the next time I need to unwind.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J-Flutterbye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
867 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
749 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Sea and Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Sea and Sun

Property: House of Sea and Sun
Address: 2 B Street, St. Augustine, FL 32080
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Hotel Class:3.5 star — House of Sea and Sun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent oceanfront B&B was rated AAA 4 Diamonds and featured in the top 10 small resort inns in Florida by the St. Petersburg Times. Built in the 1920s by the heir to the Flagler fortune, the house was restored with love by innkeeper Patty Steder. Fall asleep to the ocean hum and wake to spectacular sunrises. Enjoy breakfast while watching the Atlantic waves through a speckle of sea oats. Welcome to relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your House of Sea and Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Sea And Sun Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing